RSS Feed

Try to Ignore the Glare

As luck would have it, it was incredibly hard to get a decent shot of these once they were hanging on the wall. I suppose it would be easier for someone who knows how to use a camera; I couldn’t tell you.

Anyway, this is an example of the wall art that Heather and I put together for The Boy’s room. The pictures were torn out of one of his favorite books, Tickets to Ride. That was a no-brainer: He loves anything alphabet-related, and I was crazy about the pictures. In typical Make it Snappy fashion, I bought the frames without having measured the pages. I didn’t mean to do that, but I found myself in the Hobby Lobby, and promptly forgot why I’d come. On the way out the door, I remembered, “Frames!”, and estimated what size I would need (because they were on sale, and one musn’t pass up a sale.) Of course, I’m notoriously lousy at estimating sizes, and these were not at all close. Time for a creative solution! I decided to fill in the empty space with cardstock, and then pasted on a cut-out of the corresponding text from the book.

[Here’s another one; there are five in all. Yes, he has a two-toned room.]

Oh, and we spray-painted the frames white. They were the cheap wood variety until we hit ‘em with a couple coats of Krylon. Even including the cost of the paint, the whole project cost about $25.00 when it was all said and done, since I’d found the book, the frames and the cardstock on sale. Sometimes, doing it yourself actually pays off!

Joey was thrilled when we finally got them up on the wall, which only took us – what? – two weeks. In time, he’ll learn that this is considered a rapid turnaround time in this household.

2 responses »

  1. Yeah for art on the walls! I gotta get that book for Magdis’ Christmas present.

    Reply
  2. What a great idea!!! I love the pictures. So vibrant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

