RSS Feed

Going Old School

2010 will be remembered as the year we put up a Christmas tree. In previous years, we had a little tabletop tree because Mom was too worried about certain small people taking down the tree and breaking all of the ornaments.

And Mom was exhausted by the very thought of taking down anything larger than said tabletop tree come January. Oh yeah — I said it. One must honor one’s limitations. However, one of the kids is now old enough to be aware of the tree-shaped hole in our decor, but the other is still young enough to try to carry the tree away. What to do, what to do….

I’ll tell you what I did: Left off the ornaments and filled in the space with that old grade school favorite, the paper chain!

I’ve seen really pretty fabric chains, but paper was just much easier, especially since I had one of those big stack-packs of Christmas paper on-hand. Add that to a glue stick and paper cutter (or scissors, of course), and you’re good to go. Fun for adults and kids alike!

Oh, how I wish I’d have just started with the chain. Originally, I was going to fill in with a magnificent paper dot garland. That was also quick and easy: Cut out the dots with Mom’s circle cutter, and then chain stitch them together on the machine. Unfortunately, part of the garland fell off of the roll while I was hanging it on the tree, and became horribly snarled. After four hours of trying to detangleĀ it [yep — four hours], I decided to cut the ball o’dots off of one end and re-hang the rest.

Truth be told, I think they’re better together anyway; it all worked out in the end. All that remains to be seen is how many days the tree makes it before it gets toppled. At least it’s shatter-proof!

3 responses »

  1. LOVE it! (i’m so jealous of your mantel, by the way…)

    Reply
  2. Perfection! I love white trees

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

