RSS Feed

Splendid Medicine

I’ve been exercising a great deal of self-control the past few years, and now rarely buy books online sight unseen. One exception, though, was Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home; I knew I had to have this one. Let me tell you, it totally delivers on the title — everything I’ve tried so far has been fantastic! Even the one with sweet corn and blackberries. Sound weird to you? Because it did to me, but it was delicious. When we were looking through it together last year, Kevin saw the Influenza Rx Sorbet recipe and made the comment that it would be a great thing to have on-hand for when someone was sick.

I mean, who wouldn’t want to hear, “Special Delivery! Your ice cream is here!” when they’re laid up with the sniffles? File that idea away!

Fast forward to 2012:

So right after New Year, grapefruit was on sale for mere pennies, and I bought loads of ‘em. My sister-in-law had also shared a giant bag of the most beautiful lemons with me, and I didn’t want to waste one drop of their precious juice. Time to make some medicine!

The original recipe actually calls for orange juice rather than grapefruit, so we made both. The grapefruit combo was the favorite by a narrow margin. (You know we love our ruby reds down here in Texas.) Then we ate some…and ate some more. We both loved it. The pinches of ginger and cayenne in the recipe add a surprising kick at the end, and the honey/pectin combo makes it so that it practically slides down your throat. (Your poor throat needs all the help it can get when it’s sore, am I right?) After we’d had our fill, we packed up the rest and shipped some off to my [always congested] family.

When my mother-in-law was under the weather a couple of weeks later, we knew just what to do. To the ice cream maker!

This time around, I made a double-batch so that we could stash some and be ready at a moment’s notice. Then I kept hearing after the fact about people having been sick, and thought sadly of my poor undelivered cartons of love (as I think of them) sitting unused in the freezer.

But!

When my poor Heather got sick this past weekend, I was ready and able to get some to her via her still-healthy husband — victory!! I mean, I wish I didn’t have to deliver any at all — better to be healthy and sorbet-free, dontcha know — but was happy that our special sorbet was going to fulfill its destiny. It may not cure what ails ya (although Kev’s mom would disagree), but it doesn’t hurt.

Cold Care Sorbet

adapted from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home Influenza Rx Sorbet

2 cups grapefruit and orange juice (from approx. 2 grapefruit and 2 large oranges)

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 super lemons, or 3-4 smaller ones)

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup honey

1/4 tsp powdered ginger

One 3-ounce packet liquid pectin

1/8 tsp cayenne

Combine the citrus juices, sugar, honey, and ginger in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Remove from the heat. Add the pectin and cayenne. Pour into a bowl cover, and refrigerate until cold.

Pour the sorbet into the canister of the ice cream maker, and freeze just until it is the consistency of very softly whipped cream (about 20 minutes.) Eat it now, if you wish, or pack into a storage container, press a sheet of parchment directly against the surface, and seal with an airtight lid. Freeze in the coldest part of your freezer until firm, at least 4 hours.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks friend! How amazing that only 1/8 tsp of cayenne could pack that much of a punch. I truly appreciate your sweet thoughtfulness!

    Reply
  2. you need a juicer…

    Reply
  3. Very thoughtful of you. Natural remedies are the best and I’m sure it helped.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

