RSS Feed

31 Days: Time Out

Peak Sewing Season is in full effect around here. Once I get in the zone, it’s super hard for me to tear myself away for more mundane areas which also require my attention. You know, like fixing dinner, or doing laundry, or brushing my hair. All of it comes a distant second once I go into production mode. Unfortunately, real life doesn’t allow for this all or nothing attitude. This year, I’m really making a concerted effort to be disciplined about how I use my time. It hasn’t been easy so far. Thankfully, the last couple of days have been super productive. Maybe now I’ll be able to look at the calendar without having a mini panic attack.

(Probably not.)

Another thing I’m trying to work on is allowing for playtime amidst the work. You see, when the kids are in the house, and I’m working on something instead of just being available for their every thought or whim, it kind of makes them crazy. They, in turn, make me crazy by constantly interrupting, but I’ve come to realize that taking a break and playing or coloring or whatever they happen to be doing at the time goes a long way toward a happy day. They’re happy because they got the attention that they probably deserved in the first place, I’m happy because I didn’t have to go all Mean Mom on them, and we have a good time together. It’s win/win.

Now, if I could get one of them to cook dinner, we’d really have a good thing going.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

