RSS Feed

Whatever

What day is it? With all the crazy “snow” days interrupting our regular schedule, and all of the other stuff making our days a little cuckoo, I’m feeling even more scattered than usual. But that’s winter for you.

Still, we press on! This weekend we made ninjabread cookies (thanks, Ms. Heather!):

006

Later, I gave new life to one of Bridget’s old faves, thanks for this tutorial:

003

008

She was so happy. I, of course, spent the next hour wildly looking for more ruined long-sleeved shirts in my stash to try that trick again.

And then yesterday we had Cold Day (which is when they close the schools on account of the weather, and then it doesn’t actually do anything), so I decided to make good on the beef bones in the freezer and whip up another batch of stock. Oh, it simmered away all afternoon, and I had big plans for french dip sandwiches and pot pies in our future. Finally, I lovingly strained it into my largest bowl, and caught the bottom of the pan on the edge of said bowl, tipping it over and dumping the entire contents down the drain. I mean straight down the drain, as though it were being vacuumed down the disposal. AGH!! It was just disgusting. So I washed the nasty, greasy dishes and closed the kitchen for the night. Or maybe FOREVER! Ugh.

 

2 responses »

  1. OMG ninjabread cookies! I need this cookie cutter in my life. And that t-shirt trick is great. Your beef stock story reminds me of the time my mom was tasked with making the gravy for our big Thanksgiving dinner, and she was having trouble getting all the lumps out (I guess she used cornstarch or something to thicken it?) so she decided to strain it…and forgot to put a bowl underneath the strainer. STRAIGHT down the drain!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

