RSS Feed

Hot Hot Hot!


Now we move along to my new favorite bridal shower gift: fashionable oven mitts.

The pattern I use is a modified version of the “Too Hot to Handle” project from Denyse Schmidt Quilts*. I enlarged the pattern just a bit, added another strip of patchwork, and opted to finish the edges with bias binding rather than hemming and adding the ball fringe. Also, I use a single layer InsulBrite (or whatever the proper name is for the Warm & Natural insulated batting) rather than the cotton batting.

Anyway, do you know why they’re my new favorite gift for the new bride (or homeowner or whatever)? Until I made myself a couple of sets a year ago, I was using either a dishtowel or a ratty looking Christmas potholder.  It’s ridiculous how disgusting that poor thing has gotten, but I didn’t really think much about it. I mean, I use it once or twice a day to grab a pan from the oven and then throw it back in a drawer. How fancy does it need to be? Turns out, fancy makes a difference! As silly as it may sound, my personalized patchwork mitts make me happy every time I use them. You gotta have the right tools for the job, friends.

*I don’t know if there’s anyone left that hasn’t heard about the DS Quilts book, but if you like to sew and haven’t checked it out I would definitely recommend it. It’s chock-full of great projects and lots of quilting inspiration.

4 responses »

  1. Love the potholders! Great fabric!

    I can’t believe I don’t have the DSQuilts book yet… It’s been on my wishlist forever, I might just have to get it for myself!

    Reply
  2. I have been wanting to try this project for a while…maybe mother’s day gifts?

    Reply
  3. the fabric you chose is so perfect!

    Reply
  4. Those turned out great! I *love* that book. Thanks for reminding me about these potholders, this is something my husband would like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

