RSS Feed

Creative Challenges

What do these five projects have in common?

If you answered “Not one of them is complete”, you would be correct! I have done a lot of starting over the course of the weekend, but that’s pretty much where production stalled out. It’s a mathematical truth (and mystery!) that 5 half-finished projects do not add up to even 1 complete product.

We’ll call this Creative Challenge #1.

Here are a few others, in no particular order:

  • When an 18-month-old helps you with the laundry, calling it “help” is misleading at best. This shouldn’t come as a surprise with anyone that’s ever met a toddler. The amount of time it adds to the task, though, surprises me every week. (It’s good for a few laughs, at least.)
  • I think Weeks Ringle of FunQuilts once made the suggestion that you think out your entire quilt before you begin. Since I cooked up my flannel quilt project (or “Operation Make Room for More”) specifically to use what I have, I decided to sort of figure out the backs and bindings as I went along. I won’t say that was a mistake, but I will say that there are two completed tops without backs or bindings…yet. I just don’t have the mental energy to figure it all out today. Or last week. Whatever.
  • I *did*, however, manage to back and quilt one of the three [see photo]. Unfortunately, the bindings are still draped neatly across it.
  • There’s another stack of flannel – clean and pressed – waiting to be cut for baby blankets. I can’t quite decide on a design, though, so…. Yeah. They sit on the back of the kitchen chair, mocking me.
  • It’s rainy and cold and I just feel like drinking coffee and reading. Both good ways to spend a couple of hours, but I can’t relax with so much unfinished business.

So there you have it.  OK, I’m off to finish just one little thing so that I can try to wrap up the book I’ve been reading for the last couple of weeks. Say – maybe finishing the book will be my one little thing! Two birds with one stone – sweet deal….

4 responses »

  1. It isn’t very often that I stumble upon a blog and want to eat it up with a giant spoon. I just love your work! Your projects, fabric, ideas — thank you so much for sharing these. They really are a delight!

    Reply
  2. Your laundry comment reminds me of lyrics from one of the Free To Be You And Me songs: Some kind of help is the kind of help that helping’s all about…Some kind of help is the kind of help we all can do without.

    Ain’t it the truth!

    Reply
  3. It sounds like you are making some progress on your projects, in bits and pieces. And I hear you on the “helpful” toddler. My 4yo son has been helping me since he was one and I am forever surprised if I get anything done at all. But I love that he helps.

    Reply
  4. O-M-G! You’re not kidding on the “toddler laundry helper” My daughter will fight me to get to the washer door and then procede to pull one item at a time out, inspect it, and tell me who in the family it belongs to. Now that might not seem like a big deal, however I must say that we have 6 family members and my husband can’t tell what belongs to who most of the time! Ha! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

