RSS Feed

We Now Return to Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

So even with all of the festivities this week, I still managed to squeeze in a little sewing time. Flannel Quilt #2 is done! Just to clarify: There were actually 3 completed quilt tops – this was #2 – but I ended up finishing this one first. [As if you really cared, right? This is the kind of thing that would bother me as the reader, though, so there you go.]

Excuse me for saying so, but I love the way this one came together! The back is pieced from a large panel of yellow flannel and two patchwork panels which feature some of the fabrics used in the top. The binding is a Hawaiian print that I had on hand. Let me tell you, it’s a great weight for binding, but the paint that was used for the aloha print made pushing the needle through it a real bear. Sadly, I’m painfully slow when it comes to hand-stitching the binding as it is. No matter how many times I do it, I never manage to get into a good rhythm until I get to the final side. Still, I think it’s worth the effort in the end.

I originally used some of these fabrics to make a playmat for my niece’s first birthday last year. It seems only fitting that her mama should have the companion piece, so this one’s on its way to you, Liss. Don’t say I never did anything for ya.

4 responses »

  1. Well say! It’s always worth checking your blog! Thanks, can’t wait!

    Reply
  2. Oh wow, both the playmat and the quilt are beautiful!

    Reply
  3. My goodness. I cannot get over how great these are! Did you make that mat freehand?

    Reply
  4. I can’t believe you hand bind your quilts! Amazing. I don’t have the skill or the patience to learn the skill. Cute quilt – I like the ocean theme – goes well with the Hawaiian binding. And I know what you mean about that kind of fabric. You push and push until your blue in the face and it’s like, “Is this fabric made of steel?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

