RSS Feed

Suggestions?

OK, Friends: put on your creative thinking caps.

I have a friend that is getting married this spring. She and her fiance both have their own homes, so they’re pretty well set up for housekeeping and won’t be registering for gifts. I’d like to create a handmade gift for them, but would probably combine it with something store-bought. They both spend a lot of time in the kitchen; he cooks and she bakes.  Y’all, I’m drawing a complete blank. I was thinking about making a quilt, but – frankly – it’s too ambitious of a project. Just knowing that it would have to be completed in 8 weeks is enough to guarantee a last minute trip to Target for a gift card. Not that I have an objection to gift cards; I’d like it to at least be paired with something a little more personalized.

C’mon – got any good tricks up your sleeves? 🙂

16 responses »

  1. How about matching aprons. oven mits, and pot holders, a la Denyse Schmidt?

    Reply
  2. What about a quilted tablerunner or placemats. I made some as christmas gifts and everyone loved them.

    Reply
  3. I kind of like the aprons idea. perhaps a a his and hers version? I’m imagining cafe aprons made from natural or tan linen with iron-on transfers that look like large versions of this:

    (his) (hers)

    If you wanted more, you could make a grocery/utincels tote to match that says: (ours) or something of that sort.

    Umm… if this is unclear email me and I’ll try to offer a better description, k?

    Reply
  4. Umm… I do know how to spell utensils (I just can’t do it when I’m typing fast).

    And I’d be happy to help with any graphics for the iron-ons if you need it.

    Reply
  5. Another great kitchen oriented gift which I made for my friend’s wedding this past year was a handmade recipe book. It took some time but we sent recipe cards and a note to her guests before her shower (he mom gave us her list). Those that were sent back were compiled into a recipe book. She now has the favorite recipes of all her friends and family.

    Reply
  6. Another great kitchen oriented gift which I made for my friend’s wedding this past year was a handmade recipe book. It took some time but we sent recipe cards and a note to her guests before her shower (he mom gave us her list). Those that were sent back were compiled into a recipe book. She now has the favorite recipes of all her friends and family.

    Reply
  7. I was going to suggest maybe mixing up some different spice rubs to grilling and marinating that you could put in cute containers or tins. Then maybe add a good cookbook, aprons, overmits, and some utensils. If they like BBQ and meat, this is a really good cookbook. http://www.dinosaurbarbque.com/viewProduct.php?p=46

    Reply
  8. Before I even read the ot her comments, I thought his/her aprons. If you are short on time, you can buy cafe/butcher aprons and just embellish/personalize them.

    Reply
  9. I would make them a bedside organizer from In Stitches. Fill his side with a subscription to something fun, like Sports Illustrated, and peanuts and aftershave.
    And fill hers with even more fun stuff like Martha, Cottage Living, lip balm, a pretty candle, etc…

    Reply
  10. A couple of gifts I like giving are: (1) a copy of Home Comforts: The Art and Science of Keeping House by Cheryl Mendelson. I make homemade herbal cleaning products and package them prettily to go with this. (2) I buy a super large serving dish and provide all the components of a meal (stuff that doesn’t require refrigeration) and the recipe, handmade towel, potholder, sometimes an apron, and lovely wooden spoons. Both gifts are wrapped in the cellphane stuff used for gift baskets and tied with a beautiful ribbon and I love sticking a huge silk flower through the ribbon. Hope this helps.

    Reply
  11. My friend had these large vintage school food nutrition posters in his kitchen and they were fabulous. How about dissecting an old cookbook and framing the prints?

    Reply
  12. We are doing this for friends getting married – store bought stoneware bakepan, and stackable cooling racks, and I’m making potholders, aprons, and tea towels. Also some recipe cards with handwritten recipes, and a pack of blank cards in a recipe card holder bag. (potholders, and recipe card bag are from Amy Butlers In Stitches).

    Reply
  13. A lot of good ideas here but I’ll add my 2¢.
    Trimmed kitchen towels with matchng potholders
    in a basket with you favortie gadgets…silocone spatulas, nice pie tin, and perhaps some gourmet treats like chocolate nibs (scharfernderger) dulche de leche sauce, lemon curd….

    Reply
  14. I am completely without ideas on this Friday afternoon…sorry!

    Reply
  15. How about theme like dinner for two. Bottle of wine, glasses, candle, one of your famous compolation cds, a few of your favorite recipes and maybe some chocolates. Or you could also check her registry to see if a theme emerges out of that.

    Reply
  16. Aprons, pot holders, throw rug, placemats, napkins… or gift card!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

