RSS Feed

And Prizes, Too?!


Picture this: I’m at the computer early last Sunday morning, catching up on some crafty reading, when I came across this post. “Oh, hey, the February InStitches Winner. Well, congratulations Make It Sna–wait! I’m Make It Snappy! That’s my project!” Yes, you would have thought that I’d just read that I’d won an Oscar, and I actually did almost fall off of my chair (which is one of those things people always say and I have to wonder how that could be, but now I know.) But really, I’m not sure that anything I’ve ever made in my life has won a prize!

[I feel a little like the father in A Christmas Story talking about his “MAJOR AWARD”.]

And what a prize. Feast your eyes on this:

Such bright, cheerful fabric and thread, and the stationery – oh the stationery! It’s handmade by Ms. Finny herself and is almost too pretty to use. There’s also a Hershey bar that was more like a chocolate tube-o-goo upon arrival; it’s returned to its bar-like state now, though, and I’m sure it will be no less delicious.

Have you ever finished a project, and even though you’re pretty pleased with it, you don’t want to show it to anyone because they’re going to know what a loser/hack/oddball you really are? Because it’s not perfect, or clever enough, or the most amazingly original thing ever made? Well, the moral of this story is: don’t be shy! That’s how I felt by the time I’d photographed the ol’ eye mask, and for once, shrugging my shoulders and saying “aw, what the heck?” has paid off. In a fabulous prize, no less! So thank you, Finny and Donk – thank you very much.

10 responses »

  1. Hee hee! So glad to see that Finny spoiled you. You deserve it! And her cards are wonderful. You should see her actual garden! I’m telling you — Martha herself would be impressed.

    Reply
  2. Well, you’ll enjoy the irony here, I was a little worried about The Prize since I know Kelli is a big fat spoiler when she sends prizes out. I didn’t want to be outdone you know!

    But I’m glad you like it and weren’t afraid of my “Yes it’s summer and I’m going to tell you all about it” color scheme. Oh, and I hope your chocolate bag of ooze is still good when it solidifies. Sorry about that. Next time, baked goods.
    Congrats!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations!! I love your eyemask 🙂 You deserved to win. For all the right reasons 😉

    Reply
  4. Congratulations, your eye mask was awesome. And did you see the news on Kelli’s blog. Amy Butler herself is going to pick a grand prize winner in December.

    Reply
  5. I am so excited for you! Congratulations on your win. I’m having lots of fun with the In Stitches Sew-Along, prizes or no prizes. So many new skills being learned and new techniques to conquer. I am looking forward to April’s new project, whatever it might be.

    Reply
  6. Congratulations thats fantastic!

    Reply
  7. Hooray and Congrats! There definitely aren’t enough opportunities to win prizes as adults so I’m sure it feels good.

    Reply
  8. Congratulations! Don’t you just love reading your name in print?!

    Reply
  9. Congratulations on winning something! What a nice prize, too. And isn’t it time for chocolate goop season to be starting here in our lovely state? :o)

    Reply
  10. congrats! I love your Major award comment. Gotta love that movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

