RSS Feed

It’s the Little Things

When I saw this tutorial over at dioramarama, I knew that I’d lain eyes on a good thing. The cupboard next to the kitchen sink was jam-packed with plastic grocery bags*, so much so that you always could count on a pile falling to the floor when you reached in for one. Not a big deal, sure, but still something that made our blood boil just a little every time it happened. Well, obviously not that big of a deal, because it’s taken me three months to get around to this project.

Such a fool I’ve been! On Saturday, I was cleaning up the kitchen and thought that it would be a good time to at least lay out the patchwork strips for this bag. That is until, while I was skimming the instructions, I came across the words “you can also use dishtowels….” Ding ding ding!! What about the fine Martha Stewart dishtowels that my sister had sent me? The cute ones that have been, so far, useless (project-wise, that is)? Aw yeah. Busted one of those out, and ten short minutes later – voila! – my bags were stylishly stowed away in their own little [or enormous] windsock. Seriously – possibly the quickest project ever. Wouldn’t you agree, Carrie?

The best part? When I showed it to my husband, he celebrated right along with me the fact that our plastic mess had been contained. After a few minutes, he said, “You know, I bet you could have made that!” Bet nothin’, honey — that came straight from stock-on-hand! It made this humble little project all the sweeter for both of us.

*For the record, we do recycle most of the ones that come through, and save the others to re-use. It still makes me a little sad when I see the huge pile that’s on hand, though.

12 responses »

  1. Very nice! I love those Martha towels too.

    Reply
  2. My plastic bag collection has grown to be a forest which seems to suggest I need to get off my duff and make one, too. Your use of the MS towel is a great idea and the project came out quite nicely, I think. Thanks for sharing the tutorial link–I’m off to collect the instructions and ponder the making of the bag.

    Reply
  3. Man I definitely need to make one of those! We have way too many plastic bags and I always forget to bring them along with us to the grocery store. I’m sitting on a mountain of grocery bags! And I love the use of the MS towels!

    Reply
  4. Great quick project – I love the idea to use the dishtowel!

    Reply
  5. Ooh, love it!! Practical and, well, snappy!

    Reply
  6. Brilliant! And a wonderful husband to appreciate your work too. 🙂

    Reply
  7. We have one of those (came from Gaiam, I think) and it gets good use. I still have to be better at bringing my cloth bags to the store though. I like the fabric you used.

    Reply
  8. Wonderful! I’ve been meaning to make one of these for my friend as a housewarming gift for ages! Of course, I never thought to use my beloved dishtowels – I’ve been conjuring up all these complicated plans on how I’d execute mine. I think I need to break down and go the easy route.

    Reply
  9. The dishtowel is perfect for that project! Gotta love it when you can create something so practical and impress hubby at the same time. :o)

    Reply
  10. The dishtowel is perfect for that project! Gotta love it when you can create something so practical and impress hubby at the same time. :o)

    Reply
  11. Cute project – definitely a good way to repurpose a nice dishtowel!

    Might I also suggest using those plastic grocery bags to line your small wastebaskets (and wadding up extras at the bottom so you always have a replacement on trash day.)

    And to keep your new holder from bursting – sew a couple dishtowels together with some grosgrain ribbon handles to make a reusable grocery tote small enough to keep in your purse (so they don’t get forgotten in the car.)

    Ok, I’ll stop now.

    Reply
  12. It looks great! That is a nice dish towel. Thanks for the link.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

