RSS Feed

The Duh Factor

It’s that moment when you hear (or read) something and say to yourself, “Wait a minute – what was that?”

When just a casual comment or random thought solves a very simple problem for you. An embarrassingly simple problem.

Examples:

  • A suggestion from one Ms. Finny to keep spare wastebasket liners in the bottom of the can so that the next one will be ready to go when needed. Genius! Our previous solution was to look at the naked can for several days before remembering to finally replace the liner. This is much better.
  • OK, so a week or so ago I was without internet access and found that I accomplished a lot more. Big surprise. You see, the problem is that the connection has been restored, and it is now impossible to pass by the computer without at least popping on for a quick minute. It is also almost impossible to do anything in our home without physically passing by the computer. What to do? Well, here’s an idea: turn it off! Even for just part of the day – not too long, not a complete fast – thus saving precious time and energy. It’s win-win.
  • There was going to be a picture today featuring what’s left of this morning’s Cardamom Streusel Coffee Cake, but the light is terrible today and I couldn’t get a good shot. Guess I can’t write today. Oh, hang on – sure I can. Guess I won’t be posting a photo today. And are you any the worse for not seeing my half-eaten cake on a dark, dark table? Surely not. Martha’s picture is prettier anyway (and, happily, my cake looked very similar.)
  • Y’all, I have been wandering around in a fog all afternoon, unable to focus on any one project. I was pressing strips of fabric and couldn’t stand being on my feet anymore after about the 4th one. It finally occurred to me that I was up baking that cake at 5:30 this morning, and then I remembered that I woke up at 2 and was awake for a couple of hours…hey! I bet I’m tired! Yeah – that’s it. That’s the problem.

And the obvious solution is to go lay down on the couch while it’s quiet. Duh.

3 responses »

  1. Well, I’m SORRY I called during your quiet…GOSH!

    Reply
  2. LOL Glad these solutions popped into your head.

    Reply
  3. Woman, what are you doing up during the middle of the sleepiing hours?!!! Baking streudel is no excuse. I’m glad you thought to lay down on the couch for some down time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

