RSS Feed

Next On The List: Takin’ Some Names

Posted on

Bibs, coasters, quilt back: check, check, check!

Friends, I turned this mother out!

This might just be the first time I’ve lived up to the good Make It Snappy name when it comes to bib production. Even if they’re cut and pieced in a timely fashion, they languish at the Velcro attachment/top-stitching stage. You know that; you’ve seen it here before. Not today, though! Do you know how mentally taxing it is to have almost-done projects laying around? Not the ones that are meant to be picked up again and again, but the “quick” ones that you just can’t quite finish. I find it draining, and for once, decided to save myself the self-imposed guilt and just stuck with it. Woo-hoo! [Note to self: Remember how good it feels to finish.]

Boy, I’ve said it before: those coasters really are addictive. They’re such a great use for scraps, because they only call for 4.5″ squares. You don’t need a whole lot of width, but in the end they take up a fair amount of fabric. I’m not going to show you a picture of my scrap pile, but you’ll just have to believe me when I tell you it’s…well, unbelievable. Anyway, I’ve got two more sets of these cut and ready to go, with plans to bust out a few more. A couple stacks will be for me. I don’t know why I’m suddenly so conscious of it, but it makes me a little crazy when I find glasses sitting in pools of water all over the house. And yes, I’m usually the one the left the drink there in the first place; whatever. Besides, coasters are purdy.

By the way, can I just mention that all of the fabric for the projects shown today fit into the “use what you have” category? Congratulations on fulfilling your destiny, my cottony friends.

4 responses »

  1. Great job! They look terrific too. It must feel great to have finished them up 🙂

    Reply
  2. Can I just mention that you make me a little sick? :0)…I’m thinking of busting out the machine in the next couple of days…Meme – it’s time. I think the old Liss is coming back around…I’m afraid to say anthing – I don’t want to scare her off. She’s easily frightened…

    Reply
  3. Oh. Those coasters look like a really good idea. I have so many cute scraps that I just can’t *bear* to get rid of and these would take care of it. I see the Christmas sweat shop opening up early this year.

    Imagine: a set of coasters wrapped up with a cute coffee mug, peppermint stick and hot chocolate mix. Cute, non?

    Reply
  4. Everything looks great. I really like the bibs. I’ve been thinking about making some bibs for some new mothers. Do you have any advice on bibs? I don’t have children myself. So I’m not sure what size would be both functional and attractive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

