RSS Feed

Happiness Is…

Posted on

…having lunch waiting for you when you get home on a Sunday afternoon.

Maybe you’re like us, and your Sunday starts off in a rush to church, which is where you’ll spend a large portion of the morning. Or maybe you enjoy a more leisurely start, drinking coffee and reading the paper, before you head out into the garden/off to visit family/back to the couch. However you choose to spend your day, please try to carve out some time to rest. If it’s at all possible, try to give yourself the day off. You’ve earned it!

For me, this means not having to fix lunch. By the time we get home from church, it’s already past our usual lunch time. Everyone’s getting cranky and hungry; the last thing I feel like doing is heating up the kitchen with big meal. Besides, I, like Homer Simpson, toil not on the sabbath. Usually we get something on the way home, but I’m not a big fan of that either. We have worn out the restaurants in this neighborhood, and fast food just isn’t cutting it anymore. Not that we don’t still eat it – we just feel yuck afterwards and wonder why we keep doing it. You can imagine, then, how happy I was to come home today to my Big Sandwich*. Yay, Big Sandwich! Just took a few minutes this morning to slap it together, and it was pressed into submission by the time we got home. Come in the door, slip off the shoes, and lunch is served. No sir – can’t beat that.

Of course, I’m going to have to broaden my repertoire a little bit. As much as I love the Big Sandwich (and anyone who knows me knows this to be true: it’s been served at weddings, wakes, and birthday parties – so versatile!), not even I want to open the fridge and be greeted by it every Sunday. Maybe it’s time to bust out the panini press and try a few new variations. Who knows? That’s next week’s problem. The point is: a do-ahead meal is the perfect way to make the most of your lazy Sunday. Enjoy!

*With the following modifications: minus the salami and roasted peppers, substitute ham for the prosciutto. Just a matter of personal taste and thrift (when it comes to the ham.)

4 responses »

  1. Mmmmmm…wake sandwich…

    Reply
  2. I have two favorites for hurry up meals. One, crock pot stew that I throw in the morning before and set on low. Its ready by lunch! Second, make ahead casserole. Pop it into the oven when you get home and hand everyone a piece of fruit and some water. It’ll be ready in an hour. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sunday is my day off as well. Matt makes biscuits for breakfast, the tuna sandwiches for the boys for lunch and then we get take out for dinner. It’s really nice that for at least one day I get to rest and not worry about the meals for the day. It’s good to have a sabbath.

    Reply
  4. I’ve adjusted my happiness expecations. To me, happiness is…getting home to find that Bubba has already taken the dog for a walk.

    Sunday is always a day off for me. No long runs. Do whatever we want. Eat Nutella out of the jar. Anything goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

