RSS Feed

Readjust

Posted on

It’s funny, but I always feel like I’m pretty busy. Then a week like the one we’re wrapping up here comes along to remind me what busy really feels like. Luckily, it’s been the good kind of busy, so it’s not a complaint, but rather a reminder to be flexible. Turns out you can squeeze a whole lot more into a day than I thought!

Yesterday, I got to take the boy swimming for the first time. It was one of those things that I was secretly dreading a little bit, because I love the water so much. If he didn’t like it, I was going to be a little heartbroken. Anyway, crisis averted: he loved it! Yay! Next time, I’m going to try to remember a camera to capture the moments; it was so much fun watching him and his cousin splash around in the pool. They looked like they were born for the beach. Speaking of next time, I’ll also remember that an hour at the pool with toddlers requires tons of stuff. Luckily, my sister-in-law is a pro and knows this already, so we were in good shape. Friends, if you’re kind of new to the whole mothering thing and aren’t necessarily the prepared-for-anything type, stick with a buddy! I’ve found mine, and let me tell you, they are stuck with me. Don’t be ashamed; everybody ends up being the last in line sometimes. I’m getting used to thinking that we’re all set only to find out that we’re woefully unprepared. I blame years and years of trying to streamline and pack light. Apparently, this is a ridiculous concept when it comes to traveling with children. Good to know! See? Just needed to readjust my thinking a little. [ding ding ding! We have a title!] Next time, we’ll be even more set.

Speaking of readjusting, the great home decor shake-up continues. More on that later. For now, here’s the first real accent to be added to our living room.

This cushion is a patchwork piece that I put together during Scrap-A-Thon ’07. That’s right: one of the strip pieces has actually been put to use!! I’m ridiculously excited about that. Drawing inspiration from the aqua fabric, I appliqued the larger white flowers and added buttons in the center, and then embroidered some orange ones. [Here’s another view of it.] It’s a small touch, but the cushion adds a surprising amount of punch to a fairly dull space. Now to tackle all of the crap surrounding it….

Have a great weekend!

3 responses »

  1. ooo. Love the chair. The pillow is the perfect shape for the chair I think, and the colors so happy. You should sell these on etsy or something. 🙂 I’d be buying!

    Reply
  2. I love that pillow – wow! And I’m such a water gal too; used to live in the water all summer. Glad your son loves it!

    Reply
  3. I really love that flower detail on your pillow. Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

