RSS Feed

A Tale of Two -ities

 

1. Stupidity

Knowing a full three weeks in advance that we have a birthday party to go to and forgetting until two days before the event that this requires a gift. Oh, and then wasting one of those two days trying to come up with said gift.

2. Serendipity

Coming across this tutorial only days before, and actually remembering it. Since I’ve made pencil rolls before, I knew that I could complete this under deadline – score! I modified it only slightly, enlarging the pockets to accommodate the larger crayons (which I’m not sure was necessary) and substituting an elastic loop for the ribbon ties. Since the birthday girl is only two, I figured she has a better shot at mastering the loop than tying a bow, although getting a two-year-old to put the crayons back in the roll might be kind of a stretch in and of itself. Hey, it makes for a good presentation – that’s all that concerns me! Whipped up a little tote, added a couple of coloring books and – voila! – instant gift. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you focus on one project at a time.

On a side note, I know this isn’t an original thought, but isn’t it funny how different your thought process is when you’re a crafter? Before I started making things on a regular basis, I viewed handmade gifts as a good way to take care of gifts on the cheap, even though I’d rather buy them. You know, good when you can’t afford something better, at least you can make something. Now, it’s totally the opposite: I find myself thinking “Oh, forget it – I’ll just buy something!” only when I’m short on time and inspiration.  That’s not to say that there’s not a, shall we say, practical aspect to making your own gifts. It’s just that, if I want to give something a little special (aside from the occasional perfect gift that I come across in a shop), I end up making it myself. It’s almost a compulsion – no gift is complete unless I’ve made some element of it. Good thing you bloggers keep crankin’ out the tutorials and patterns!

One response »

  1. I went through a similar transformation with handmade gifts. I was going to make a little girl almost exactly the same things you made but I just didn’t have the time or energy… I got here something at the store to make life easier!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

