RSS Feed

Cautiously Optimistic

Hey, look! I haven’t killed any of them yet!

Yes, despite last week’s hailstorm and the many critters in our yard, the herbs and vegetables appear to be growing. One of the tomatoes is a little spindly, but it’s early yet. If you haven’t ever planted vegetables before, this stage is really fun. You can actually tell that they’ve grown overnight. Ah, but the next stage – the bearing of fruit – is where it starts to get dicey. You see a tiny little tomato, so full of promise, and then *poof* nothing. So I’m trying not to get my hopes up yet.

I’m not sure if this has come through in my other entries, but I really hate to exercise. Don’t misunderstand: I like being active (sort of), but setting aside a chunk of time to workout? Not so much. But I’m trying to change that. This week marked the first time in months that I’ve worked out more than once in any given week. Hooray! I prefer days like today, though, when I get my workout through natural activity, like working in the yard. This morning, we decided to be pro-active and clean out the gutters before it started to pour down rain. It wouldn’t have been that big of a job, except I’m not sure how long it’s been since we cleaned off the metal awning over our back porch. Give you an idea of how long it’s been: there was what appeared to be a tiny pine seedling growing amongst the leaves and pine needles. I’m no expert, but I’m pretty sure that’s not a good thing for your structures, supporting their own little forest. Five trash cans later, we were done. Now we can go on and enjoy the rest of the day without guilt, so it was well worth the effort. Speaking of which, my menfolk are out right now, so I think I’ll go put on my sewin’ shoes. Ciao!

One response »

  1. So proud of you! I am cautiously optimistic I’m going to be able to change my diet in the next month and cut out a lot of crap. Let’s encourage each other!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

