RSS Feed

InStitches Sew Along – June

So where were we?

Ah yes – Lake Living Room. Well, we had a landscaper out on Friday, and he thinks that the problem can be greatly improved by adding still more drains. The work should be done by the end of this week, so it’s as good as resolved in my mind. Never mind that it’s supposed to rain every blasted day this week. There is (please, oh please) already light at the end of this tunnel.

On to the sewing!

Let me start off by saying that, if you haven’t already started on this month’s InStitches challenge, there’s still time. The placemats and napkins may just be the easiest projects in the book. That having been said, if you don’t have a fabric combination on-hand (with enough yardage, and you will need plenty), well, it’s time to step it up. Picking out the fabrics was ridiculously time-consuming. [Finny, I hear ya.] And here’s the thing: I decided to throw thrift to the wind and buy the fabric for this project. This was before I scored the fine Hancock’s bargains; I don’t normally keep a lot of home dec yardage on the shelf. The only piece large enough is one that I’m sick of using. Anyway, long story short, I wandered around JoAnn’s aimlessly for an hour before settling on this Waverly print, but couldn’t find one piece that coordinated with it. Yes, that’s what I said. With all of those colors swirling around in this print, I couldn’t find one piece that I liked enough to pair with it. Whatever. Luckily, I did find that dotted piece on the shelf at home, although only after about an hour of going through those stacks. See? Ridiculous. At least there was a happy ending, though, right?

As for the napkins, I had two challenges:

  1. Yep – coming up with a suitable fabric combo in yard and a half increments.
  2. Personally, I don’t really care for double-sided napkins. Normally, I’m all for the reversible hem-free option, but not when it comes to napkins. Weird hang-up, I know.

I have been wanting to try the Handmade Napkins tutorial ever since I laid eyes on it, though. It was also very straightforward and easy to use. Seeing as how I had enough white twill for the main piece, coming up with enough fabric to make the bindings wasn’t too difficult. Finally! Actually attaching the binding to the napkins was not such a pretty picture, but I think that a little practice would go a long way in that area. Not sure how much practice time I’ll be logging, though, because I sort of, um, hated attaching the binding. Still, I do like the way they look. So, yes, definitely need to suck it up and work on perfecting the binding technique. I’m just saying, if you ever receive a set of these from me, you’ll know that it was a labor of love to be treasured always.

Looking at this photo, I really could get used to sitting down to a proper table. Of course, that would require clearing the ever-present stack of books off the unused portion. Oh, the table in the photo is not our actual dining table; it’s just a spare. Time only allows for so much, you know. In this case, the staging of the photo won out over the clearing of the “real” table. There you go – full disclosure. Speaking of time, I need to wrap it up and get dinner going. Til tomorrow, Friends!

8 responses »

  1. Great job! I made these about a year ago. Yeah, the napkins are huge and were I to do it over again I would find another pattern too. I’m looking forward to checking out the tutorial you mentioned.

    Reply
  2. You’d never know those two fabrics weren’t part of the same line – good job putting them together, even if it took you an hour! I’ve had placemats on my to-do list for ages so this is a good kick in the butt!

    Reply
  3. Great job -really pretty. I had a hard time finding something to go with fabric number one too, and ended up just using plain black for lack of anything better.

    Reply
  4. I love that set! I have the swirly fabric from JoAnne…bought it on my last trip to the states. And I hear you about binding. I was planning to make my daughter some pink napkins with a freehand flower and white binding, until it got to the binding. Never did finish those darn things. I’m with you…need lots of practice. Still, looks like you’re a pro at binding from here.

    Reply
  5. LOL my dinning room is also my library so I know what you mean about stacks of books. I think you design is lovely!

    Reply
  6. Okay, I’m booking my ticket and coming for dinner. How adorable is that? You may have had a hard time picking fabrics, but you picked some darn cute ones! LOVE!

    Reply
  7. See? SEE! Stupid fabric that never matches with any other fabric in the whole WIDE WORLD. Ugh. I know your pain. I think the ladies at the fabric store were about to ask for my rent. I was there no less than two hours trying to match fabric.

    How DOES anyone put together fabric for a quilt? I’d have to quit my job.

    Anyway – I think your set came out beautiful. And THANK YOU – double sided napkins are retarded. I did mine single sided, too. The end.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: AfricanKelli » Blog Archive » Singing With my Singer

Leave a Reply

