RSS Feed

New Summer Reading – Crafty Edition

OK, here’s the thing. I had pretty much talked myself out of buying this book during the pre-order period. The rationalization I used was that it was geared toward a beginner, and technically I’m probably more of an advanced beginner, so even though I really wanted it, it was probably an extravagance (albeit a rather modest one.)

That worked right up until the day the book became available in stores. Yes, I dashed on over to Barnes and Noble on the 19th, but sadly, it wasn’t out yet. Mom, being much better at these kind of things (and not dragging along a certain two-year-old, who decided that he wanted to be carried through the blasted store), was successful on her trip so now I’m the proud owner of Bend-the-Rules Sewing by Amy Karol.

Can I just tell you how happy it has made me? And a tiny bit sad, because it makes me feel a little redundant sharing my little sewing tips, but mostly very very happy. I’ve barely skimmed the surface, really, because I want to savor it a little more. The projects are very cute and seem absolutely doable for the beginner, while still fun for someone with sewing experience. Oh, and I can tell already that I’m going to pick up some good pointers. Anyway, the quality I love most of all, though, is the tone of this book. To me, every project and every tip just screams “I like to make things! Just try it – you will, too!” Check it out and I bet you’ll see what I mean. I just love that vibe – sewing for its own sake. Not because you’re trying to be frugal, not solely to rake in some extra cash (not that there’s anything wrong with either of those things – those are sometimes great perks!), but simply because you like to create nice things with your own two hands and some pretty fabric. I could go on and on – you get the idea.

On my next read-through, I might even pick out a project!

Today’s crafty docket is dedicated to pre-washing fabric, I think. We spent the early part of the afternoon swimming, and that was so much fun that I think we both deserve a nap. At the very least, maybe just a soda and a bit of rest. Ahhh, sweet summertime

5 responses »

  1. I think I have to order it now. Between your review of this and you introducing me to bias tape napkins yesterday, I am pretty sure I’m spending the next 10 months at my sewing table. Thank you for the good swift kick I needed to get back to it!

    Reply
  2. I resisted too, until last week when I placed my order through Amazon. Too darned tempting!

    Reply
  3. I’ve put a hold on a copy at the library (but I’m sure I’ll buy it when all’s said and done!) So I’m basically feigning frugality for a few short weeks.

    Reply
  4. I too resisted until last week, when I got this strange and obsessive compulsion (I get that way about craft books) and called around locally until I found it, zoomed over and grabbed it out of their boxes – they hadn’t even stocked the shelves yet! I am a true beginner so this kind of book really helps me.

    Reply
  5. Mine just arrived. I’ve liked what I’ve read so far. And I’ll still read and use your sewing tips.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

