RSS Feed

Instant Gratification

OK, I’m pretty sure that the Artsy Clutch from Bend-the-Rules Sewing is the easiest project I’ve ever sewn. I had such a good time making it, but I think that most of the fun-factor is directly related to how quickly this bag comes together. Best of all, it provided me with the opportunity to finally cut into the embroidered pleather-ish fabric I’ve had on the shelf for the last year. It was one of those pieces that I couldn’t pass up when it was on clearance, but then didn’t have the nerve (or whatever) to try sewing it. I thought it would be a pain in the neck, like vinyl, but it turns out it handled beautifully. Go figure.

Oh, I expanded the dimensions slightly to 9″x9 1/2″, but still couldn’t wedge my wallet into the bag. Still, I plan on making a few more for the rare occasions when I go out on the town in the evening. I never seem to have an appropriate bag for even slightly dressier occasions, and this bag suits me as a good compromise: not too spangly/formal, not too “Mom bag”. Excellent.

8 responses »

  1. Wow, that fabric is great for that bag. Looks so nice. Hope you get to use it for an evening out sometime soon.

    Use your lining fabric and make a small wallet type holder for just what you need for an evening out – license, bank card, etc.

    Reply
  2. Just love it. not surprising, I know!

    Reply
  3. Its very pretty 🙂

    Reply
  4. Looks awesome. Love the fabric.

    Reply
  5. Looks great! I definitely need to get that book!

    Reply
  6. You recreated that cover photo so well! And I love the bag!

    Reply
  7. I’m a little late commenting as I’ve been on vacation — that is the best version of that bag I’ve seen. Really nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

