RSS Feed

Super Easy Baby Quilt

No, I didn’t abandon the clean sweep in favor of whipping up a quilt this afternoon. This happens to be one of the many projects which have been excavated. The fine wrinkly quality serves as an example of what happens to your unfinished quilts when they get bundled up and buried beneath piles of other…piles. And I was so close to the finish line! It’s done except for the binding. Well, and I also seem to have missed one line of quilting, so I need to handle that. Here’s another shot, which is of almost equally poor quality from a photography standpoint. Taking a decent shot of a quilt is tough!

Anyway, this is a really easy quilt pattern. I love the way the dotted blocks (without the borders) seem to be floating above the others if you stare at it for a minute. I think it would have been even more effective if there were more of a contrast between those and the striped blocks, but the white flannel was the only coordinating light color that I had on hand at the time. Oh, that’s right: I pieced this one together on the fly. This was another time when I got all excited about a pattern and started flinging fabric combos together. In total, I pieced five of these tops; here’s another one. Yeah, it’s quite the pink explosion, and again it could do with more contrast. Still, it makes me happy to look at it again. I love those fabrics, every one of them.

I’ll stop here before I break into a chorus of “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday”.

4 responses »

  1. I really like this one! It does look like the blocks are floating.

    Reply
  2. This is a great quilt–even with the polka dot print which I adore and the wonderful “frames”–it looks fresh, open, and airy. Lovely, lovely project. Thank you for sharing the pattern link, too.

    Reply
  3. Oh, so pretty! And so simple! LOVE it!

    Reply
  4. Love this pattern! I’ve bookmarked it for future projects…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

