RSS Feed

Do You See What I See?

Why, it looks like there is enough room on my sewing table to accommodate a quilt.

And, say, I don’t think there are three piles of overflowing boxes obscuring the wall in the upper right corner!

It’s true: I finally have enough room to sew again. In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll tell you that the Great Clean-Up isn’t quite done. When it got to the point where I could fit all the miscellaneous stuff on the floor into one basket, I swept it into a pile, tossed the pile into a basket and called it a day. There’s only so much one person can take! At least it’s down to one manageable pile. Oh, and that was my brilliant cleaning method, by the way: I took the big dust-mop and just kept sweeping the piles toward the middle of the room and then sorted it out. It was encouraging to see whole sections of the floor emerge at once. You do what you have to do to keep going.

Anyway, the cutting table and the shelves still need to be addressed, but I need some crafting time, man! I also need to start whittling down the works-in-progress stack before I start one more thing. I knew before I started this whole purge process that I had a tendency to work on several things at once without rhyme or reason. It’s part of my creative process, dontcha know. Yeah, it’s one of the parts that I need to re-vamp. I think a little discipline may be in order. It’s hard to keep things tidy when there are a dozen different things in varying stages of completion strewn about, and if I put them away, well, out of sight, out of mind. Not so good.

Now, did I spend the afternoon quilting away? Sadly, no. A very sweet man rented me a movie on Monday, and I’ll be darned if we were going to pay one more late fee to that store. I normally feel kind of self-indulgent at the thought of sitting down in the middle of the day to watch a movie, but what the heck? It’s Friday! (You know, and the whole late fee thing.)

Enjoy your weekend!

One response »

  1. Is that a Brother I see?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

