RSS Feed

Those Clever Swedes

Once again, I’m happy to report, we managed to make the most of our Saturday (in our own modest way.) We even squeezed in a spur of the moment trip to IKEA. That, by the way, is my idea of spontaneity: driving the fifteen or so miles to IKEA without having planned to do so a week in advance. I live on the edge, people!

Personally, I hate going to that place after about 9:30 in the morning, especially on the weekend. I tried to make the most of our time by speeding through the showroom. Young Mr. Adjective was hanging out of the cart as we zipped through, providing us with a running commentary of things we might have missed: “Ooh, cozy beds! Ooh, rocking chairs – fun!” Nothing to see here, Son; keep moving. When we finally made it to the marketplace, Kevin took over the cart duty and raced us through the first floor, much to my dismay.

“Wait! I want to look at the dishes.”
“You’re not strong enough to get through here yourself, Meg. Come on—stay focused!”

Hm. Well, be that as it may, I did have a few children’s dish items on the list (which I’d left at home), and totally forgot them. Thanks a lot, Capitan! He was right, of course, but that’s beside the point.

 We did manage to find a couple of lamps for our bedroom and some pillow forms that I’ve been needing for months, so it was a successful trip all in all. Scratch that: Nobody left in tears, which makes it perhaps the best trip ever! I do love the variety at IKEA, though. I always come out wanting to re-vamp every room in the house.

Speaking of which, the new Vern Yip show on HGTV had the same effect on my last night. That man has so much style; his rooms always turn out terrific.

Well, I finally sat down and started quilting today. Know what? Machine quilting is tricky. And exhausting. I had to take a break after two rows because my arms were starting to give out. Still, it’s so exciting to be making progress! Even though the design is not quite what I’d imagined it to look like, it is a design (of sorts), so that’s gotta count for something, right? Of course! I’m absolutely brimming with half-baked ideas right now; it’s so good to sew again. My goal is to let them finish forming before jumping in and starting them, but only time will tell.

4 responses »

  1. I find that going to Ikea is exhausting. It’s definitely a all day trip for me. So much to see and oohh and aahh over.

    Reply
  2. so glad i’m not the only one who has zero ikea will power. it’s the fabric and frames sections that suck me in every time!

    Reply
  3. I love IKEA, but trips there on the weekend are so draining! I always have to take a nap after. Actually, they should put a nap room in IKEA, and then we could all take a lovely break to resume our shopping!

    Reply
  4. I LOVE Ikea, they always seem to convince me that I need it all. Was it too early for swedish meatballs and ligonberry jam? That’s the highlight for me, personally.

    A word from me about machine quilting, I despise it, for all the reasons you listed. i end up with sore shoulders and a bad mood at the end of it all. Not worth it for me. I hand quilt, and if I want it done speedily, i use pearl cotton embroidery floss and big stitches. So fast, and much more relaxing, and it looks fab, i think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

