RSS Feed

Finally, a new project!

Well, it’s the beginning of a new project, but that’s beside the point. I was able to wrap up enough of the old to justify moving on to something else. It was such a treat! And, in keeping with my new rule, I only started a microbatch, even though it would have been so much more efficient to create an assembly line. The result? I am actually looking forward to continuing, but it’s a little bit of a letdown not having much to show for hours of work. Everything has it’s trade-off.

I’ll tell you, once I got married, I forgot how to handle myself when I’m alone. My husband went out of town—just overnight—on business, and I kind of didn’t know what to do with myself. The boy and I carried on as normal, but once he went to bed I was a little aimless. Oh, I did get wild and crazy and stay up until almost one in the morning, but I’m not sure why it seemed like such a big deal (but it did.) He’s coming home a little later, but not before I can prepare a special mother and son living room dinner, complete with the premiere of the new Backyardigans movie. I’m a little embarrassed about how excited I am about the idea, especially since I suspect that my excitement only ensures that he will care less. Not on purpose, mind you, because he’s two and not that wily, but that’s just the way it tends to work out. Like an idiot, I was trying to explain what a fun time would be waiting for him come evening. His only concept of time is “now”, but I couldn’t help myself. One of these days he’s going to get it, and you never know: today might turn out to be that day. You don’t know! Anyway, the whole eating in front of the tv thing is something that was a big deal when I was a kid. We only got to do that when Dad was out of town (which wasn’t all that often until I was almost grown), so part of me was looking forward to re-creating this happy childhood memory for my own kid. Again, probably need to wait until he’s older than two, and still yet another reason why this particular idea will end up a dud this time around. Eh, whatever.

Oh, I also had visions of transforming our bedroom. Yes, while I had the house to myself…for an extra few hours. Yeah, I don’t know. I guess my own concept of time isn’t so stellar, either.

3 responses »

  1. It’s fun to do something totally out of the norm every now and then. I also feel somewhat bewildered when my husband is out of town on business–I don’t go to bed until very late, eat wherever and whatever I want, and just wander about the house trying to figure out what to do with myself. I hope you and your son have a blast eating your dinner in front of a fun movie.

    Reply
  2. I always want to tackle some crazy project when my husband is out of town – and it’s always something that will take way longer than he’ll be gone for. Weird.

    I didn’t know there was a new Backyardigans movie… I have to stick that on my 4-year-old’s wish list so I can see it 😉

    When my oldest turned 1 (6 years ago now) I was so excited to give him the new Baby Einstein videos (Baby Shakespeare and Baby Van Gogh) that I could hardly stand it. He ended up loving them, but frankly, I was really dying to see them myself and had no idea what *he* would think of them!

    Reply
  3. I remember being allowed to eat in front of the tv. It was a real treat. Now we do it all time . Or we did until we finally got a dining room table last month.

    I too get aimless when hubby is out of town. Don’t know why. Last time it was for a week, I wrote a list of things to accomplish while he was gone, and promised to check off at least one thing a day. I got quite a bit done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

