RSS Feed

Like the Midas Touch, But Not

You see, it seems like just about everything I touch lately turns not into gold, but, rather, to crap. The ganache? Check. Hot and sour soup, which made me so happy because it made good use of the leftovers and stuff in the pantry, and because I love hot and sour soup? Oh, check check. It wasn’t inedible, but almost. We opted for Chik-Fil-A. The soup met its fate quickly; straight down the drain.

The only sewing I’m managed to complete over the past two weeks (aside from a pair of pajama pants for the boy) are these here coasters.

They were heavily inspired by the Bend-the-Rules ones, and the patchwork draws from the style found in DS Quilts. I was pretty pleased with the combos until I got to the last two sets (which are not pictured, but we’re getting to that.) Nevertheless, they were already pieced, so I went ahead and added the ribbon embellishment. And then they sat for a few more days…and then I cut them…and then they sat for a couple more days. You know what? I couldn’t bring myself to bother finishing them, and you know how I feel about unfinished projects (especially two wee coaster sets, which will only turn into a crumpled mess at the bottom of the to-do basket), so I threw them away. Just tossed them into the trash.

Aw, good riddance to you and the soup, Coasters!

I’m hoping that this wraps up my losing streak, especially since I have new projects to begin. Yahoo!! Yes, it’s time to start auditioning Christmas gift possibilities. Well, it’s always that time in my book, but now it’s getting down to the wire from a crafting perspective. Time to lock in the finalists, at the very least, and since I’m auditioning, that means new stuff pour moi. Oh, and I may participate in a craft sale, depending on whether or not I come up with anything to sell. The well’s a little dry so far; I have precisely…six sets of coasters, and those are actually gifts masquerading as sale items. These things can go either way.

7 responses »

  1. Hmmm, I thought this entry was going to be about car repairs. Go figure!

    Reply
  2. a quick stroll around martha’s site always bears fruit for christmas pressies i tend to add/change things to fit. Your right though, time to start auditioning!!

    Reply
  3. I’ve been having a bit of a challenging time crafting lately, too. Maybe it’s something in the water, I don’t know. I’ve never thrown a project away before but I did this week. That’s okay, I tell myself, I’ve learned something and will start again.

    Reply
  4. I’ve been having a bit of a challenging time crafting lately, too. Maybe it’s something in the water, I don’t know. I’ve never thrown a project away before but I did this week. That’s okay, I tell myself, I’ve learned something and will start again.

    Reply
  5. We call that the Touch of Poo in our house and I have it frequently. I mean, take a look at some of my recent InStitches projects for evidence.

    I have one potholder left that is just begging to be thrown in the trash. But alas, it sits there on the craft shelf and taunts me!

    So, how long did it take you to tear through these coasters? I’m thinking that might be a good gift for coworkers.

    And, really, your touch of poo looks pretty good. I mean, those coasters *are* very cute.

    Reply
  6. Doggone it. I hate weeks like that! Good news — new week, new karma, new vibe. I’m thinking you’ve got lots of good coming your way.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: An Open and Shut Case « Make it Snappy

Leave a Reply

