RSS Feed

Got My Mojo Workin’

There are those days when no one major thing goes wrong, but it seems like every little tiny minor task is somehow screwed up.

Yesterday was most definitely one of those days.

The best part of all, though, is that that was yesterday. Today was brand spanking new, and I was back in the groove with another fine sewing project.

Behold the Note Taker:

And a little peek at the inside:

Oh, and yes, I did fuse some fabric along the top edge of the notebook itself. What am I, a shill for the office supply moguls? Keep your tacky logos out of my fancy portfolio, thank you!

The finest part of this sleek number is that I was able to begin and complete the whole thing in one day. Well, actually, yesterday I pulled all the fabrics, found out the the ones I’d selected for the inside were too small, pulled some new (even better, as it turned out) ones, and got them all pressed. This was done while I listened to my son not take a nap, which is why the actual cutting and sewing phases were pushed into Thursday.

If I’ve learned one thing from participating in the InStitches Sew-Along, it’s to resist being intimidated by patterns that seem to call for a lot of pieces and which also contain more than five steps in the instructions. That was mainly what scared me about Kathy’s beautiful pattern, but silly me! Once I got the portion of my brain that hates dealing with interfacing and dreads cutting to shut up and just do it already, the rest of the assembly came together lickety split. The instructions are clear and easy to follow, and I love the results. Love ’em, I tell ya!

You know, I have to say that I always feel a little embarrassed talking about how pleased I am with the stuff that I make. The truth is that it’s always such a happy surprise when something comes out like I’d envisioned it, or resembling the one portrayed in the pattern, without me having to rip it up twenty times. Also, I absolutely love fabric (surprised?), and get no end of pleasure out of working with different combinations. Especially when they turn out to be completely different than the ones I start out with; it’s almost like a surprise to me when I see the finished product. Finally, it continually amazes me that I finish anything at all. Yes, I’ve said that more than once, I’m sure, but it’s still true. There was a side thought included in the sermon that I heard at church last night about people that avoid finishing tasks or what have you because it’s too hard. Ouch. That definitely hit home with me; I arrive at the discouraged burned-out stage pretty quickly. The encouraging thing, though, is that I know that I can choose to buckle down and deal with this tendency. Whenever I do, even when it’s something as minor as completing a sewing project that I’d deemed “too hard”, it’s like a little victory. Hey, I’m all about finding an easier way, but sometimes there just isn’t one aside from giving up. So don’t give up too easily, Friends! There’s hope for us yet. 🙂

6 responses »

  1. Ouch – “Keep your tacky logos out of my fancy portfolio,
    thank you!”

    Reply
  2. You should be proud of your projects. Bask in the glory of your FO’s!

    Reply
  3. You know, I have to say that I always feel a little embarrassed talking about how pleased I am with the stuff that I make. The truth is that it’s always such a happy surprise when something comes out like I’d envisioned it, or resembling the one portrayed in the pattern, without me having to rip it up twenty times. Also, I absolutely love fabric (surprised?), and get no end of pleasure out of working with different combinations. Especially when they turn out to be completely different than the ones I start out with; it’s almost like a surprise to me when I see the finished product.

    I couldn’t have written that better myself. I usually stand back afterward and think — ha ha! I made that! I freaking made that!

    Reply
  4. I’m pleased when I don’t throw out the project half way through and just head for the minibar. But man, when something actually gets done (every once in a while), I’m like, “Holy crap! Lookie at that! I rock. And I deserve a cocktail.”

    Oh, and I’m so making notebook covers for my coworkers for Christmas. SUCH a fantastic idea. I’ll let you know when I post on them so you can show off what a fancy muse you are.

    Fancy!

    Reply
  5. I just put some comments on Flickr but followed your link over. I LOVE your idea for the notepad binding, definitely will have to try that. It occurred to me that it matched incredibly well 😉 Your Note Taker is just beautiful. Glad you are proud of it, you should be.

    Reply
  6. You should be pleased. Its awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

