RSS Feed

Now It’s Official

Seeing as how it’s November, it is officially not too early to get serious about cranking out the Handmade Holiday Goodness. I’m so excited! And I’m in good company: check out the excellent Handmade Holiday spectacular over at Sew, Mama, Sew, and Kelli’s swell checklist (not to mention the Nov/Dec InStitches assignment) for some inspiration.

While I’ve been making my list and checking it twice for several months now, November is when I really get crackalackin. This morning, I woke up and the ideas that have been floating around in my head were starting to gel up, which was a good sign. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love making gifts for Christmas. Not that I haven’t put out my share of flops [and I’m sorry about that, and still a bit sad—I really am], but that’s going to happen sometimes. What are ya gonna do? The key, I’ve found–even with assembly line gifts–is to make each one as personal and special as you possibly can. Now’s the time to use the very best materials and take your time with the packaging and presentation. That’s why I’m trying to start early. By the time I get around to the wrapping stage, it’s ten minutes before we have to get out the door and I’m long past caring. December 21st is my unofficial deadline, but I’d like to finish sooner if possible. Then I can concentrate on the next best part: the food!!

Unfortunately, due to the secretive nature of gifts, I’m concerned that I won’t have very much blog fodder. There’ll be a few things that I can share, and maybe I’ll feature some of my favorites from years past. Half the fun of making stuff is sharing the excitement with other like-minded folk, you know?

Oh, and my man bag was a success! I’ll share a picture of the finished product next time, when there’s some light in this house again. For a place with fifty million windows, it sure is tricky getting a decent shot on a cloudy day. Anyway, turning out one (actually, two) gifts in week one is an encouraging and excellent start. Happy crafting, my friends—let the games begin!

3 responses »

  1. Yay for handmade holidays! And double yay for not being the only one out there already ready for some holiday festivities. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m working on Christmas gfits, too. Most of my Christmas gifts are handmade except for the odd thing here and there off someone’s Wish List.

    Reply
  3. Handmade holidays are indeed the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

