RSS Feed

Tasty Thanksgiving Treat

There would have been a picture to accompany this, but the picture doesn’t do this humble little dessert justice. And talk about easy! This was a favorite around the office, back when I spent most of my time in an office, and I was lucky enough to snag the recipe secondhand from my boss. Go ahead—give it a try and see what you think:

Pumpkin Pie Crunch Cake 

  • 1 16 oz can solid-pack pumpkin
  • 1 12 oz can evaporated mild
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp each: ginger, nutmeg, salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 package yellow butter recipe cake mix
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup chopped pecans

In a large bowl, combine pumpkin, milk, eggs, sugar, spices and salt. Pour into a 13×9 pan. Sprinkle dry cake mix evenly over pumpkin mixture. [DO NOT stir together!] Drizzle melted butter over all. Bake at 350 for 50 – 55 minutes. Sprinkle pecans over the top during the last 15 minutes of baking time. Cool completely. Serve with whipped topping, if desired, and refrigerate leftovers.

This will come as no shock to no one, but I can’t quite believe that tomorrow’s Thanksgiving. Really, how can that be? Ah, but I’m in no mood to sink into a whole melancholy thing about it, so I’ll just leave at that. It’s hard to believe, but that doesn’t change the fact that the big day is upon us. Let’s hope it’s a good one, without any fear. (Oh wait–that’s Christmas/New Year, isn’t it? Sorry, John and Yoko.) Seriously, have a wonderful Thanksgiving. I plan on enjoying all the delicious food I can hold, and hopefully will remember to take a few moments to reflect on our many blessings. It’ll take longer than a few moments, actually, and that’s a blessing within itself.

As for “Black Friday”, I plan on celebrating by staying home and lounging. I’ve seen what goes on out there, and can’t bring myself to join in on the fun. No, not even for 99¢ flannel, JoAnn’s. (That’s pretty much the litmus test as far as I’m concerned.) Certainly not at 4 a.m., Kohl’s and Penney’s. Good grief! But if you’re brave enough to give it a shot, more power to you. Happy hunting, and be careful out there!

6 responses »

  1. Wish Me luck. I will be leaving at 3:00a.m. to hit the stores!

    Reply
  2. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving 🙂

    Reply
  3. Why would anyone go to a store on Black Friday when they can do the same thing from their desks on Cyber Monday?

    Who is also making up these stupid names?

    Reply
  4. Yum yum yum. You know I love me all things punkin!
    How are you? How was your holiday?

    Reply
  5. Intriguing dessert! It’s going on my list!

    Reply
  6. sounds great! I am going to try out your recipe. I have had a killer craving for Ginger lately. I just can’t get enough of it. I hope that you had a great Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

