RSS Feed

Wrapping Up the Wrap-Up, or Enough Already

Really. I’m pretty sure this about covers the rest of what I did during my Christmas vacation and the days leading up to it:

  • These pajamas for our two youngest nieces.
  • This bag for my sister-in-law.
  • Quilted throws for Kevin’s mom and aunt.
  • Marshmallows (using this recipe, which is now the best one I’ve tried), which were then used for the enormous s’mores I made for my sister and brother. Just break a graham cracker in half [no, I certainly did not make my own crackers. I don’t think I’ll ever be that Martha!], cut a marshmallow square to fit, and cover with melted chocolate.
  • 2nd batch of marshmallows, this time flavored with mint and decorated with a red swirly top. Here’s a word to the wise: “mint” extract is not peppermint extract. I thought it must be, because it was all I could find in the store, although there were several brands, but mint extract is a combo of spearmint and peppermint. Being pretty much a peppermint purist, I was a little miffed but whatever. Had I only read the box….
  • Handmade ribbon, which is to say: I ran out of ribbon, and used a scalloped-edge rotary cutter to slice into some silky home dec fabric that was languishing on the shelf. Such a good use for fabrics that were too pretty to pass up, but have proven to be somewhat hard to work into a project. My advice would be to tie these on at the last ribbon, because the pinking will only go so far when it comes to keeping the edges from fraying, but hey-it’s not like they’re meant to last, right? And a nice wide, shiny bow looks so fancy and festive.
  • Went to the movies–finally– and saw National Treasure. (Wasn’t that required of every American adult over the last couple of weekends?) Fun movie. We need to see more this year; it makes me feel bad that it’s such an EVENT for us to go to one. I won’t bore you again with all of my issues, but I will say that I’m working on them. See? I know how important compromise is to marriage! 

Today, amongst other things, I’m working on re-stacking the fabric on my shelves so that I can actually see what’s going on over there. It looks like there may be some room for consolidation (please please please!), but it’s hard to tell. So far I’m encouraged, though!

2 responses »

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your blog this past month and getting a peek at all of the beautiful gifts you have made for family and friends. It give me a lot of new ideas for sewing in 2008. 🙂
    ~mjanice12

    Reply
  2. oh man those smores were good. so fluffy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

