RSS Feed

Days 14 and 15: Time to Upgrade

Well, they say you can’t keep a good (wo)man down, but I beg to differ. I spent most of Saturday sprawled either on the bed or the couch, trying to catch up on the sleep I’d lost due to nasty sinus problems. Those who may have been growing weary of the sound of my voice were treated to a couple of semi-silent days thanks to the laryngitis, except for the many times I felt I had to test out my voice by singing “Bette Davis Eyes” in my new smoky growl, but now I’m getting back into the swing of things.

Yes, lovely friends, I finally finished the baby gifts. We can now move on to other things, so hooray! (You can take a peek at the blankets and bibs if you’d like.) I really enjoy making these, but it’s better when it’s one set at a time. [Note to self: That’s a good argument for staying one step ahead in ’08.]

Oh, this poor little spider plant. I kept wondering why it was getting taller, but never fuller, and it finally occurred to me that it may need to be re-potted. Not a moment too soon, either, because I absolutely hate the stupid pot that I’d painted for it originally. Ugh! Hate it! I don’t know what my problem was, aside from the fact that I was going for instant decorating in our first apartment, and I just wanted to get it done quickly. I’ve wanted to redo it since about the day after the plant went in, but that required either painting it with plant and all, which probably wouldn’t have resulted in a better product, or taking the plant back out. I think you know that was never going to happen. But now I had a second chance and a better concept. If you noticed that the little sprig there bears more than a passing resemblance to some of my favorite fabrics, you would be correct. I just free-handed the design on some wide masking tape, cut it out with an X-acto knife [Yes, me. Icut it out all by myself!], and stuck ’em on the primed clay pot. Then I applied a couple coats of purple indoor/outdoor acrylic paint, peeled off the tape, and filled in with a thin coat of antique white. You can’t see it in this shot, but the inside of the rim is painted bright lime green. I can’t wait to seal it and add the plant! I will wait, though, because it seems to me that I’ve been impatient in the past and ended up smearing the paint with the sealer, so, yeah, I’ll wait another day or two.

It is rainy and cold today. I have no choice but to go lay on the couch and read for a little while.

2 responses »

  1. the raing is telling you that its time to relax :).

    Reply
  2. I like that pot. My houseplants usally die before I get a chance to repot them… I blame my children – if it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t be keeping the plants on the fridge and then forgetting to water them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

