RSS Feed

Junkie Tendencies

Christmas (which seems very long ago as I type this) was a festival of sweets. We finally ran out of delicious cake and cookies about a week into the new year, and declared that it was time for a purification. “Ugh, no more sugar for a while!”, we cried. “Enough already!” And we meant it, for a change.

After a week of that, though, I started missing having a little something good around the house. Hey, there’s nothing to go with my coffee! Nothing for dessert? What is this? And that’s when I realized that I needed to bake again. Sure, a better person would have resisted, but a better person probably wouldn’t have immediately gone poking around in the pantry, frantically looking for supplies, either. So another pumpkin crunch cake was baked, and peace was restored to the land. I’m not sure what I’ll be baking this week, but I already know that something fresh is in order. Fortunately for my waistline, the mere fact that there is a tasty treat in the house makes takes away the obsessive “I have to find something now” aspect out of snacktime, and I found sweets a little less appetizing again. Go figure.

Speaking of obsessive, remember the whole thrilling library card procurement story? Yeah, I’ve been back twice within the week. Books, glorious books! Thanks for the online ordering that now exists, I have three more waiting for me when we return in a couple of days. It’s been very hard for me to do anything but huddle on the couch with my nose stuck in the pages. Now there are deadlines attached to my reading, don’t you know! Of course, thanks to online renewals [I love libraries of the 21st Century!], I can always extend that deadline, but then how could I move on to the next book? No, gotta keep a steady clip here. The first one I breezed through was “Betsy’s Wedding”, the last of the Betsy-Tacy book series. I checked that series out over and over and over when I was a kid. Yes, they’re for kids, but they’re so sweet (almost sickeningly so, but I have to admit I love that in this case) that I had to go back for one more read. It was a good way to start out the year. And it didn’t cost me one slim dime. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

