RSS Feed

Day 23: You Win Some, You Lose Some

 

As predicted, I needed (yes, needed) to head back into the kitchen for some baking today. Originally, there were two kinds of cookies on the docket: Ultimate Chocolate Comfort and Mom’s Oatmeal Raisin. The latter were a triumph, the former, well, they’re in the trash.

I have to celebrate the tiny but significant shift in my personality that allowed me to chuck a whole batch of not-actually-poisonous cookies in the trash rather than eating them, all the while complaining about how they were no good, or tossing them into the freezer, as though they would undergo some miraculous transformation during the freezing/thawing process. So, in that, even the bad batch wasn’t all bad.

The saddest part is that this chocolate cookie recipe has never failed me, but I think I can pinpoint the culprits. Even though I’m usually rather, I guess you could say, cautious about food safety rules and use by dates (as in: not a week goes past that I don’t call my mother with an urgent, “Do you think this is still good? Are we going to die if I cook it?” question), but decided to throw caution to the wind in the case of the past-its-prime marshmallow cream. Yes, it was beyond the “best by” date, but I think it’s fair to say that this can hardly be classified as a food. Still, turns out it becomes a little oily sitting on the shelf all those months. Also, it’s nearly impossible to find Toll House mega-morsels (you know, the big chunks), so I went with the store brand. Bad call. Bad, bad call.

But you, oatmeal raisin cookies, you truly have never let me down. And the man of the house, who loves the chocolate ones, will be happier to see you anyway, so it all works out.

I won’t tell you that these are the best of their kind that you’ll ever taste, even though that’s my secret belief. The reason I won’t tell you that, though, is when I hear those words, the first thing I do is twist up my face and think is, “Oh, I’ll be the judge of that”. The verdict is rarely favorable. It takes a lot to be THE BEST anything! So I’ll leave you with this recipe–which isn’t technically my mom’s, but she’s the one that always made them and passed it along to me, so it’s hers now–and then you can see for yourself. Please, don’t take my word for it!

Mom’s Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

3 well-beaten eggs
1 c raisins
1 tsp vanilla
Combine and set aside for 1 hour.

1 c shortening
1 c brown sugar
1 c sugar
2 1/2 c flour
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
2 c oatmeal
1/2 c pecans

Cream shortening with sugars. In a separate bowl, mix flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Add one cup dry ingredients to the shortening mixture, mix, then alternately add the egg/raisin mixture and the rest of the dry ingredients to the batter. Once completely combined, add oats and nuts.

This time around, I used an ice cream scoop to drop some king-size cookies (about 8 to a tray). Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes. Makes 2-4 dozen, depending on the size of your scoop.

One response »

  1. Congrats to you for being woman enough to toss the cookies in the trash.

    I, too, fall victim to the “Well, just toss them in the freezer. SOMEONE might want them. SOMEDAY.”

    Which they never do.

    Also, I’ll thank you to disregard the “The Best…Ever” titles I have given my chili and tomato sauce recipe since I don’t want your face twisting up all like that. ;0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

