RSS Feed

Part II: When You’re Rolling in the Dough

Well, if you find yourself actually rolling in that much dough, let me know how; that sounds great! Still, even modest savings begin to add up, and it’s a lot more fun to see that than to realize your hard-earned cash is slipping away.

Before I get into that, though, I have one more tip for your grocery experiment: Don’t forget about lunches and snacks and stuff. “How could I? Do you think I’m stupid?”, you may ask. Certainly I do not. However, the first time I did the big two-week shopping, I was so wrapped up in all that dinner planning that I pretty much neglected the other two meals. Leftovers generally take care of lunch for Kevin, but what about me and the boy? Oops. And sometimes you might need a little snack, you know. Double oops. So yeah, don’t forget to consider those things. No need to get carried away as though you’re preparing for an expedition; just remember it’s nice to have some food in the pantry.  

OK, so now you’re shopping less often and hopefully tucking away a little green. Man, set that money aside! Put it in the mattress, open another bank account—something! I hate when I scrimp and save and then find that the money’s just being absorbed somewhere else. If you start seeing results, you could:

  • Put it toward installing a new shower, since your old one started leaking into the laundry room the minute you started talking about extra money. Oh, is that just in our house? I beg your pardon.
  • Well, the traditional housewife considered extra household money “chef spoils”, if you will. I’m just sayin.
  • What about the small home dec projects that you’ve been thinking about? Spruce up the joint! (Take a page out of Autum’s book; I know I will.)
  • Vacation fund? Start a vegetable garden (which I have found to be expensive and totally fruitless, so it’s good to have a little extra seed money)? Throw more parties?

I don’t need to tell you how to spend your own money; surely we all have plenty of ideas to spare. One more thing to consider would be sharing your blessing with your local food bank. I don’t know why I never knew this, but I was actually surprised when I read that the food bank can stretch your dollar a lot farther than they can your food donations. I mean, it makes sense, but I guess I’d never really given it much thought. I came across a verse the other day that really jumped out at me:

He that hath a bountiful eye shall be blessed; for he giveth of his bread to the poor.

-Proverb 22:9 KJV

Isn’t that good? I love the idea of looking at your world with a “bountiful eye”. 

So that’s about all I have to say about that. There was no sewing yesterday, but I do have some show and tell from earlier in the week once it gets light enough to take a decent picture.

2 responses »

  1. I can’t begin to tell you how much I love the idea of saving money in your food budget to help provide food for others.
    Wow. That is Christian work at hand.
    And as for me? I just spent $80 on the community dinner menu for tonight. Oy. This is getting a bit out of control.

    Reply
  2. I can’t quite do the every two weeks thing – we go through too much milk and fruit for me to go two weeks. But I do only shop once a week and then with my menu that I’ve premade with a few extras “just in case”. And you are so right about the snacks. When I started doing this a couple of years ago I totally forgot the snacks. Mostly snacks are fruit and crackers, but still….. Nothing shuts up a whiney kid faster than a snack, eh?
    And um, yeah, we’ve got a few of those leaky shower projects of our own – and a car with 200,000 miles that drives great, but keeps having little annoying things go wrong. ::sigh::

    Reply

Leave a Reply

