RSS Feed

For All Practical Purposes

First of all, thank you so much for the sweet birthday wishes! You guys sure do know how to make a girl feel loved. The rest of the weekend was just as much fun as it began, complete with a special birthday edition of Craft Day at Heather’s, which was exactly my kind of party: hours and hours of working on a project, carrying on conversations with some of my favorite adults without distraction, and lots of tasty food. So much fun. Craft Days rule!

I came home on Saturday and got it into my head that I needed to make a new ironing board cover (an idea I’d filed away for a later date after being pointed in the direction of a tutorial that I can no longer locate, sorry to say), and that’s just what I did. You know what? There’s something to be said for starting and finishing a project in one fell swoop. I’d only intended to cut it out, but since it only needed a casing sewn into it after that, I figured I may as well go ahead and carry on. It just had all the earmarks of being one of those things I’d glance at for the next six weeks as it sat neatly folded on the cutting table, all the while muttering “I need to do that…” as I moved along to halfway completing something else. Maybe this will be the year where I actually finish what I start! You think? Maybe? I did, after all, go back last night and finish the quilt I’d been working on Saturday. It had only been sitting in a box, waiting to be quilted, for a little under a year. See? Things are happening, I tell ya!

2 responses »

  1. I love your new ironing board cover and the fabric is really nice. I used that same fabric last year to make Lotta Jansdotter’s sunhat and chose it because the mythological references appealed to me so much. Anyway, great job!

    Reply
  2. I am such an ass. I totally didn’t realize it was your birthday. D’oh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

