RSS Feed

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted on

OK, so I can’t really say whether or not it pays to start early, because I started this quilt with plenty of time to spare…and then ended up completing the bulk of the work this week. (The shower is tomorrow.) Maybe I was only able to complete it because I did have the luxury of hemming and hawing over the design for several days, who’s to say.

Anyway, this is the third configuration that I came up with; it looks nothing like the playmat I had in my head when I cut the fabrics. By the time I started piecing it, I wasn’t even sure I was going to like it at all, but, as it turns out, it’s probably one of my favorites. Love when that happens-it makes the whole idea of seeing things through to the end so worthwhile! Even more surprising? I ended up hand-quilting the bubbly circle design on the white sections, and it didn’t take forever! Of course, that’s partly because practicality won out: the circles were originally daisies. Unfortunately, my daisy outlines looked terrible, and, well, I only had two days available for quilting. Circles it is!

Now I’m already itching to make some more. There’s also a pattern that’s in the new issue of Quilts and More that caught my eye, and I want to try it out RIGHT THIS MINUTE. (Meanwhile, the ironing pile grows ever taller. Priorities….)

Oh, and I also made a couple of bibs, using the Simple Bibs template in Bend-the-Rules Sewing, because I couldn’t resist this sushi fabric:

 I added the patchwork because I have a bit of a compulsion, I guess.

4 responses »

  1. Circles, patchwork, sushi…what’s not to like???

    Reply
  2. I love the quilted circles. I’m working on a little quilt and have to do circles on it. Your work is inspiring me. The baby bibs are cute and will be well used, I’m sure.

    Reply
  3. I love it when things evolve on a deadline – and that Bend the Rules bib is my favorite. So simple, so perfect. Love your fabric choices.

    Reply
  4. Beautiful quilt. I love the quilted circles. So pretty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

