RSS Feed

Detour

Posted on

Let’s see, so when we last left off, I was whining incessantly about the minutiae of my week. And let me tell you, just getting all that madness off of my chest was a relief! Didn’t seem half so bad after that, not even when the other bathtub started leaking into the kitchen two days later. No, not even then.

(Not even when I had to pay $75 to have a repairman come out and tell me that we needed to buy a $3 can of sealant to fix up the problem….  Actually, I was just relieved that I didn’t have to pay him $75 for the privilege of hearing that we’d need to sink thousands of dollars into replacing it before it could be used again. We’re coming out ahead on this one, in my book!)

It was rude of my to leave you hanging on the verdict of whether or not the Mango Bread was a worthwhile endeavor. I’m sure you’ve been on pins and needles wondering ever since, right? Of course!

So I veered off-course on my Cake Odyssey ever so slightly to make a stop in quick bread country. Oh, and here’s when I get to make my monthly plug for the greatness that is the public library. I had resisted buying this cookbook, because I’d managed to convince myself that I could probably live without another baking book. And I probably could have done so, but after checking it out of the library and marking a half-dozen recipes and then trying the bread, I now own my own copy. Anyway, this recipe’s a keeper. The only alteration I made is that I replaced most of the oil with applesauce. Although I’d like to convince myself that this make the resulting bread “healthy”, I did it because I’ve made my share of greasy carrot cakes and brownies and now have kind of an aversion to large amounts of oil in a recipe. I will say, though, that it may have been alright to leave in the oil in this recipe, because it looked bone-dry when it comes out of the oven; not very appetizing. The author recommended wrapping it in plastic wrap for a day and then eating it. Nice! After a day and a half in the wrap, it was fabulous. And the mango taste is not very pronounced at all–they could’ve passed for peaches– so I would even be comfortable serving it to someone who is not as big a fan of the mango as me. Unless they were allergic. I’d of course refrain in that case, despite my love for this luscious fruit. 

The week before that, I also baked up a batch of S’more Brownies using a recipe I found on (yep) the box of brownie mix. In my opinion, they weren’t s’morey enough, but they are sticky and good and the kids all seemed pretty drawn to them. If you needed a quick not-at-all-good-for-you treat for a bunch of kids, you might want to give this one a go:

Bake a 9×13 pan of brownies according to package instructions (or from scratch, if you’re so inclined). While they are baking, break 5 graham crackers into quarters and set aside. When the brownies are done, remove from the oven, and scatter 2 cups mini marshmallows and 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips over the top. Pop the pan back in the oven for two minutes, or until the marshmallows begin to melt. Remove from oven and lay the graham cracker pieces in rows across the top of the marshmallows, pressing lightly. When completely cool, cut brownies into 20 pieces. (Basically, just cut around the graham crackers.)

There you have it. I might increase the marshmallows the next time around, but I’m not sure if it’s a good idea. I also considered torching the top of them instead of putting them back in the oven, to see if that would lend a more authentic flavor, but it seemed a little ridiculous. Doesn’t mean I won’t try it in the future, though.

4 responses »

  1. I had the same thing happen with that book – didn’t think I really needed another cookbook, checked it out from the library, bought it the next week. It’s a keeper, for sure.

    Reply
  2. I have this book and I am a member of the Tuesdays with Dorie group, where we bake 1 recipe from this book a week. I love this book as well!!

    Reply
  3. I am HUNGRY now. That all sounds so good. Glad to hear the fix was only a $78 detour and not a $7800 one.

    Reply
  4. S’mores brownies sound GREAT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

