RSS Feed

By Tomorrow, I’ll Have Forgotten

I’m not sure I’ve ever managed two posts in one day, but we had a winner of a dinner tonight and I wanted to share. Actually, it was Kevin that said tonight’s was a Snappy-worthy meal which deserved documentation. High praise, indeed!

So, I was having sort of a pantry challenge this morning, since I was desparately trying to put off a trip to the grocery store for one more day, at least. and decided we’d be grilling up some chicken on the barbecue tonight. I marinated it for about 10 minutes, while the grill was heating up, in some leftover balsamic vinaigrette (Paul Newman’s Own – quite delish) that’s been languishing in the fridge. The basil has been pretty productive, so I whipped up a quick pesto by grinding up a cup or two of the leaves with a clove of garlic, a few tablespoons of olive oil, some parmesan, salt and pepper, and a small handfull of pine nuts. Oh, how I love my mini-chopper! Anyway, that was later stirred into some couscous, which I’d cooked up in the leftover chicken stock that was about to expire in the fridge. Managed to pull the chicken off of the grill before it was completely charred, and then topped it with a sauce I threw together using the last scoop of plain Greek yogurt and some crumbled feta cheese. If I do say so myself, yum! And talk about quick. Quite possibly the best part, though? Using up the remainders or putting a considerable dent in groceries destined for the trash (because you know trashing food makes me feel like such a failure.) That, and not having to go to the store and still coming out with something didn’t completely reek of having been thrown together so I wouldn’t have to go to the store. This house is no stranger to that kind of meal, mind you, but this wasn’t one of them. Hooray!

2 responses »

  1. you are my hero! These days we seem to toss tooo much ( what with crazy escalating food prices and stuff.) And training my baby dog means fast is now essential not just convenient. this post touched my soul… especially because it inspired a second post in one day!

    Reply
  2. I call that pantry alchemy and yes — it is a sweet rare gem. Good for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

