RSS Feed

Bring On the Sweet Cash

Kelli’s post yesterday reminded me of one that I’ve been meaning to dash off for weeks now. That, and the fact that my husband came home yesterday looking wild (in his own quiet way) and talking about saving money and reducing debt. An hour-long commute spent listening to talk radio during these complicated financial times will make anyone feel a little frantic, in my opinion. Anyway, there are still ways to make a few extra nickels and dimes, my friends, and clear out some clutter at the same time. You know I can’t resist that combo!

Cash 4 Books* is my new best friend. I’d read about it in a magazine about a month ago, and spent the rest of the evening looking for books to sell. As a side note, it’s amazing to me how many books I managed to pull off the shelf when a dollar bill was dangled in front of my snout. I mean, I thought that I’d sacrificed all that I could possibly bring myself to part with back when we had our garage sale, but no. There were more. So, I took my stack and listed the ISBNs on the Cash 4 Books site, and they let me know right away which ones they were willing to accept. Once I accepted the bid, they issued a free shipping label that I could print, and then it was off to the post office. After about two weeks, I received notice that my check was in the mail – woo hoo!

Of course, I was still left with a pretty hefty stack of books that weren’t accepted. But, say! Doesn’t Powell’s also have an online book-selling program? Oh, but yes, so I listed the rest of the books there and managed to sell a few more. They issue store credit rather than cash, but I could still use that. After all, it’s not as though I’m ever going to stop buying books altogether. Please. 

My own personal rule for the “unsellables” is to pack them away for donation or the next garage sale. If they came off the shelf, they should stay off the shelf, right? Right. So the de-cluttering is moving forward and the Christmas fund is growing; both are bright spots in my day.

 

*In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll tell you right off that I stand to receive a referral if you click on this link and make use of this service. So, if you do, first of all THANK YOU! Secondly, don’t forget to look into the Affiliate Program so that you can refer your own family and friends to this site (if you should feel so led.) I only discovered it after tipping off my own family, but that’s ok. The idea of selling books online was too exciting to wait!

3 responses »

  1. This is a great post. I really need to spend a bit of time to figure out new ways to save and make a little extra cash.

    Reply
  2. I’m clearing out a whole home-school library! What a treat to know about this website! Heather passed your blog along to me!!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: It Pays to Re-Organize « Make it Snappy

Leave a Reply

