RSS Feed

Good Stuff

img_1999

  • I finally got around to making the applesauce last night. My faithful father/son crew took care of the peeling and coring, so it took no time at all. Money-wise, it’s kind of a wash; I think I ended up with about a cup more than I’d have gotten buying it off of the shelf. The taste totally made up for it, though. And it’s so easy! All you do is peel and core the apples, and then cut into about one-inch pieces. For three pounds of apples, I cooked them with half a cup of water over medium heat for about 30 minutes (or til tender). Since we like ours super chunky, I just mashed ’em up with a potato masher, added some cinnamon and a couple of teaspoons of sugar. That’s it! We’ve already managed to polish off the first jar.

img_2000

  • Oh, but this is a sanity saver and – quite possibly – very good for my marriage. I tend to leave stacks of stuff all over the place that needs to go out. You know, magazines to pass along to friends and family, borrowed items which need to be returned, those kind of things. Invariably, I would place the stack in a seemingly conspicuous spot. . .and then forget it when I ran out the door. Now, I can’t do much about the forgetting part, but I now have a new outbox system (pictured here) in the kitchen that is a big help. The pockets came from the Container Store, and then I hung them up with those 3M removable tab hooks. Here’s a tip, though: Use the big 5 lb. hooks, even though the 3 lb. ones will seem sufficient. They’re not, not even for holding up the flimsy pockets with one wee magazine inside. Mine fell down three times before I finally threw in the towel and sprung for new hooks. Oh, and as for the marriage saving qualities? Kevin never made an issue out of it, but I could always tell that the outgoing stacks which took weeks to actually go out drove him up the wall. Needless to say, he’s a fan of the new system. His only request is that I don’t let the stuff overflow out of the tops of the pockets. Fair enough!
  • Election Day is here and almost gone, and do you know what that means? No more recorded messages from the candidates six and eight times a day! I couldn’t be more excited.
One response »

  1. Ha! My name is Heather, and I approve this message!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

