RSS Feed

A Stack of Old Shirts + A Couple of Hours

= This:

img_2005

After stumbling across this the other day, I couldn’t wait to raid our dresser drawers for soon-to-be-cast-off shirts and crank out a few hats. (I have a confession to make, though: I kept a couple for the newest little head to join our own household. How could I resist?) I know that I sound like a broken record sometimes, what with all of my varying degrees of quick projects, but – seriously – this one may be the quickest of all. If you visit the link provided above, you’ll find the instructions and pattern template. All you have to do is cut out the template, trace it onto the bottom of a t-shirt, sew, cut, turn and knot. Now, myself, I prefer to trace the template onto the shirt, pin around it, and then just sew it, using the traced line as the guide for the seam allowance. Does that make sense? So, rather than cut out the pieces and sew them together, I sew the front and back of the shirt together and then cut around it on the traced line. That’s just me, though; totally a personal preference. My cutting is not so strong, you remember. Anyway, the best part? No hemming, because you use the hemmed bottom of the shirt for the edge of the cap.

Actually, that’s not the best part. The very best part is that I was able to take something that I’m reasonably sure would have ended up in the trash (because exactly how many used t-shirts are really going to be snatched up from the Goodwill?), and was able to make a useful something else out of it for a new mama who needs it. When I happen across these kinds of causes, it thrills me. I can participate and still maintain my relative hermit status!

Hey, and so can you!

3 responses »

  1. I really need to do this – we’ve got tshirts coming out our ears.

    Reply
  2. yeah, I need to do that too. My husband and I have more t-shirts from playing sports over the years than any person I have ever met. Your hats are so cute!

    Reply
  3. Ooh – good one – will do! Can’t wait to meet the wee one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

