RSS Feed

Ta-Da!

 

or: Meet the New Girl!

img_2043

Our Bridget, born 11/7 and weighing in at a healthy 9 lbs, 7 ozs; 21 inches long. Prettiest hands to ever come out of my family; it was quite a moment for me of the stubby, wide fingernails.

In honor of her birthday, here are seven things I discovered (or, in some cases, rediscovered) over the past few days:

  1. Nothing, and I mean nothing, can prepare you for the sleep deprivation.
  2. My nurses in the hospital were THE BEST. Every one of them, so great. Hers? Well, they liked her. One of them busted my chops, though, for the first two days, and then decided that I was fit to keep my baby and was very nice after that. Be warned, though: Nursery nurses can be harsh to the mothers! (This happened with Joey, too, so I wasn’t surprised; just disgusted.) I should say, though, that the other nursery nurses were fantastic, and even kept her for a few hours at night without making me feel like a jerk. That was priceless.
  3. Having a repeat c-section wasn’t nearly as horrible as I’d built it up in my head to be. In fact, everything went really really well. I am so thankful!
  4. This little piggy here has already developed into a righteous eater. Sadly, she falls asleep and refuses to wake up midway through feeding, so every feed takes about an hour. Well, it’s not like I’m going anywhere, so what the heck!
  5. For a rather, shall we say, undisciplined person (because lazy is too harsh a word, don’t you think?), I’m finding it really hard to just sit around. I mean, I have doctor’s orders to support me and everything! It’s a golden opportunity! [Don’t get me wrong, though: I’m following the order.]
  6. Every doctor and nurse that saw my baby exclaimed over how big she is, but she still seems very tiny to us. A tiny, squishy, beautiful baby.
  7. Her brother, on the other hand, grew over the weekend, I’m pretty sure of it. He’s such a big boy all of a sudden! And the sweetest big brother in the world. . .so far. And she, in turn, responds to his voice more than anyone else’s.

So, all in all, we’ve been incredibly blessed. Thank you for all of your kind words and well-wishes! I’m sure I’ll be prattling on about this for a while, but what else do I have to talk about? Daytime television? Believe me, you don’t want to know.

15 responses »

  1. Hello, you beautiful girl!

    Reply
  2. Oh, Congrats! What a sweet, beautiful girl. Love the name too!

    Reply
  3. There you are. I’ve been checking and checking . . .Congratulations! What a big, beautiful, healthy baby girl. Would love to be abe to give her a squeeze. Such a pretty name. Congratulations to all of you and an extra hug for the new big brother!

    And, yeah, I’d much much rather have baby news than daytime TV news!

    Reply
  4. Congratulations!! She is very sweet and I love the name!

    Reply
  5. she is beautiful!!! I love her name! She was a bigger baby than my three. My biggest was 8.13

    Reply
  6. Congratulations – she’s a beauty! And hooray for big little girls (mine were 10-2# and 9#).

    Reply
  7. Woo-hoo!!! What a beautiful, precious little miracle! I’m so happy for you all. God bless.

    Reply
  8. Beautiful name for a beautiful baby

    Reply
  9. She looks just so precious!!! I can’t wait to meet her in person!!

    Reply
  10. Oooooh! look what you made!.. So beautiful! So Fun.
    A little sister! What could be better?

    Reply
  11. Congratulations Meg! She’s a beauty.

    Reply
  12. I am so tickled to see her pic and read you are both doing well. I cannot imagine the sleep deprivation. I wish I could send you some.
    Instead, my prayers and well wishes!

    Reply
  13. congratulations with the birth of your babygirl!!

    Reply
  14. A very belated CONGRATULATIONS to you and your growing family! Another girl for the Coopers! How fitting is it that Joey gets to continue to bask in his status as the only boy. 🙂 xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

