RSS Feed

It’s Been How Long?!

So the baby is more than a month old already, which comes as a bit of a shock because it means that I’ve been sitting here, losing track of time, for a whole month.

A whole month!

That is hard to believe. And easy to believe, seeing as how one day sort of bleeds seamlessly into the next. It wouldn’t be that big of a deal if it weren’t DECEMBER. Even with the scaled-back Christmas plans, I’m starting to get a little anxious about the tick-tock of the clock. It’s like in the Charlie Brown “Great Pumpkin” movie, when Sally gets so upset about missing the whole thing? That’s the feeling that’s welling up right about now. On the other hand, I’m comforted by the knowledge that the rest of this household has very low expectations, and the only one getting a little crazy in the head over the whole thing is me. That, I can manage.

Because I’m actually the only one here that has these beautiful visions of sipping hot chocolate and watching Christmas movies every night, admiring the already-wrapped gifts sitting under the tree on, say, the 15th, basking in the sweet holiday spirit. I don’t know where these ideas come from, and since when did it need to go on for ten days? I’ll settle for three! Now that’s a goal I might be able to meet!

I feel better already. We need to have these chats more often.

Fortunately, I did get a jump on things a couple of months ago, so there are only a few last minute projects that I’m hoping to be able to crank out. (See? I said “hoping to”. Lowered expectations, my friends.)

img_2002

When I made the first neck-wrap back at the beginning of the year, I was already thinking about my mother-in-law. It just seems like the perfect gift for her. The aqua and grey one was for another gift [Oh yes – I took this picture weeks ago], but it’s so pretty that I want to duplicate it for this package; the colors would really suit Kev’s mom.

Well, the young rooster is crowing upstairs, so break time is over. Would you believe there are other gifts ready to share? Hallelujah! Now if only I could get a half-decent shot of them. . . .

It’s always something, right?

3 responses »

  1. You’re really getting some mileage out of that pattern – so great! And, I’ll say it – even though I don’t usually like pink, that pink wrap is pretty hot.

    There, I said it.

    Reply
  2. Such a great project! Glad you are getting back into the swing of things and so happy baby B is here!

    Reply
  3. My mom loved the neck-warmer you sent to her in the hospital! I must tell you that I presumed to use your picture in my recent post, showing what you made for Mom. If I could have your email address, I’ll ALWAYS ask your permission first from now on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

