RSS Feed

Act Now

If there’s one thing that’ll light a fire under me, it’s a kid who has been growing at a rate of a pound per week and an inch per month.

img_2142

These pants for the little Miss have been in production for a whole week, despite the fact that they are totally quick and easy. (I was once again using the pattern for Kimono Pants from Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for Little Ones book. When you come across a pattern in one of her books that only takes up a page, you know it’s going to be a breeze, that’s all I’m saying.) We received sooo many beautiful new things for her at Christmas, not to mention the bonanza of hand-me-downs, so she’s not in need of much. Except for pants, which is perfect, considering that’s about the only thing I can make myself. And she’s still the right size for leftover pieces, so it’s a double bonus!

Of course, it’s only a double bonus if said pants are finished before she grows out of them. I had to act quickly. That’s my excuse for the crummy stitching on the hems, and I’m sticking to it.

Oh, here’s a couple of tips I’ve picked up along the way, and probably passed along before, but will add again since I actually used them myself this time around [hooray!!] :

  • Take the extra time to baste the seam allowances around the waist. Usually, I just make a little box of seams, but this time I used the iron-on hem tape and fused them down. It really does make running the elastic through the channel a whole lot easier. Your blood pressure will thank you for the extra effort.
  • I read somewhere about a genius idea of sewing in a piece of ribbon, like a tag, in the back before finishing the pants. Sadly, I was too lazy for that, but I did mark each pair with a Sharpie smiley face. Same, right? Hey, she’s only going to wear them a few weeks at this rate. Even more reason to mark them: We don’t have time to spare spinning the pants ’round and ’round to decide which is the front. Yes, that is the voice of experience speaking. (“Joey, what is wrong with your pants?”

It’s the little things, Friends.

3 responses »

  1. I almost bought that book, maybe I need to – the pants are adorable! As for the hems, they look good from here. Along those lines, a friend of mine told me something I thought was so clever. Her mother used to say “You’ll never see it on a galloping horse”. Apparently that’s an old saying but I’d never heard it. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the ones with purses on them! She looks so adorable in the pants you made her! It was so peaceful watching her sleep in church on Sunday. The little cherub.

    Reply
  3. Hi Meagan – I hope you don’t mind, I tagged you on my blog for the random comments game. If you have time. (That must be a joke right, having time with a new baby?! )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

