RSS Feed

For Such a Time as This

img_21582

Back last spring, a former co-worker of mine announced that she was expecting a baby girl right around my own due date. Not wanting to waste any time (and not knowing what we were expecting ourselves, thanks to Ms. Modesty here), I started piecing together another zig-zag quilt.

Now, I have to confess, I was already chomping at the bit a little to do another zig-zag quilt, since I’d enjoyed the first one so much. And I may have already pulled these girly peach and green fabrics before I heard this friend’s big news.

Two things happened along the way to change the course of events, though. First, I got a look at my friend’s registry. Everything was palest pink and mocha. Every thing. This shouldn’t have made any difference to me, considering I wasn’t making her a crib set, for Pete’s sake, but. . .it kind of took the wind out of my sails. Besides – and this is a little ridiculous, maybe – I hadn’t made a quilt from one of the other members of our team when she’d had her baby, and I was already afraid of hurting her feelings. This is the kind of overthinking I get into when I don’t wait until the last minute; there’s another point in favor of procrastination.

Also, when I put the blocks up on the wall to arrange them into rows, I found that I didn’t like the zig-zag pattern in these colors. Don’t ask me why; it just wasn’t working for me. After twisting them around for a while, I had a square within a square thing going, and then settled on the one you see in the photo. And – wouldn’t you know it? – we then found out we were going to have a girl, too, and I was positive that her mom would like these colors. Don’t you love how that all worked out? I sure did!

You can’t see it in this picture, but it’s even backed with one of my favorite Heather Ross stripe prints, which is one of the softest cottons ever. I almost couldn’t use it on this one, because it took up almost the entire piece (all but a 4-inch strip), but realized that this might mean that my mothering instinct was lacking, so I cut right into it. Sometimes it’s important to squash those lesser tendencies, you know? I felt this was one of those times.

5 responses »

  1. Hey, hey! It turned out great – as always!

    Reply
  2. I love your quilt — but I want to see the back too! 🙂 I’m proud of you for cutting into that fabric. I’m the same way. Why is that so hard to do? We know that it will be be replaced by another piece we find equally irresistible on one of our next trips to the fabric store.

    Reply
  3. Lovely! What a lucky little lass!

    Reply
  4. Um, gorgeous. The colors are great! And I love the design. Nicely done, lady!

    Reply
  5. love how you changed this up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

