RSS Feed

Everybody’s Doing It

I almost titled this post “I Drank the Kool-Aid, and It Was Delicious!”, but that sounded so negative, and there’s nothing at all bad about bread this good:

img_2173

Yes, after having seen this book referenced on at least a half-dozen other blogs, I could resist no longer and picked up a copy for myself.

Then I skimmed it, and let it rest on the shelf for a few months. The process sounded a little to good to be true, to tell the truth. But oh! It’s not! It’s totally as easy as it sounds. The loaf in picture number one, up there, is the boule (from the Master Recipe). I made four loaves over the course of two weeks, and every one of them turned out well. Now, I will say that I like the flavor of the famous No-Knead Bread a little bit more, but I don’t enjoy making it. At all. Three times I had a sticky mess on my hands; one loaf didn’t survive to reach the oven. It just slid out of its floury towels and spread onto the table. I have no idea what went wrong. Nor do I care, because this new dough and I are BFFs.

After finishing up Batch #1, I moved on to the Buttermilk White Bread. For this one, you mix up the dough, and throw it into a 5-quart bucket. Refrigerate overnight. The next day, I cut off two pieces, shaped them (this is the five minute part), and left ’em in loaf pans to rise for a couple of hours.

Here they are, all buttered and ready to go into the oven:

img_2204

And, less than an hour later, presto!

img_2205

The only drawback? I suspect we are going to turn into a couple of white loaves ourselves; I cannot stop snacking on this bread.

If loving it is wrong, I don’t wanna be right.

6 responses »

  1. Mmmmm. Looks so yummy! If I actually allowed myself to make it, I would probably eat the entire thing by myself and then want to make more : )

    Reply
  2. Wow, Meg, that bread looks absolutely perfect!!!

    Reply
  3. I have this book, too, but have been debating whether I really needed to buy a baking stone or not for it to be successful. Once again, I am grateful to you for being a guinea pig! Did you use a stone for the boule? Have you seen their blog? (http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/)
    It has bonus recipes and tips.

    Reply
  4. That looks sooo good! Don’t feel bad…you’d find me curled up in bed with a big hunk of it and a Little House book. That’s just who I am.

    Reply
  5. Better than the No-Knead Bread? BLASPHEMER!

    I just found the NKB recipe myself and LOVE IT LONG TIME, so now I have to find out what this book’s all about, too.

    For good measure you know. We’ll be white loaves with you 🙂

    Reply
  6. Can I come smell your kitchen? The loaves look divine. Maybe I should bake this evening — my husband thanks you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

