RSS Feed

Junkie?

Yes, I have indeed been spending every free minute in my new and improved workroom. Oh my goodness. I cannot believe how much of a difference the clearing has made! First of all, there’s room for the baby’s playmat (free from the danger of me tripping and falling on her); this buys me an extra 15 minutes or so. Also, it’s more fun to cut on a wide-open table, and less stressful to sew without knocking something onto the floor every two minutes. Is this how it’s always been for the rest of you? Who knew?!

But I’ll leave that hot topic today for another confession. Although I’ve always liked candy, I’m not what you would call a candy person. During this last pregnancy, though, I developed a hankering for M&Ms, of all things. I mean, that’s the kind of candy that I place squarely in the “OK” column: Not disappointing if it winds up in the Halloween bag, but I’m not spending money on it.

That was before last September. I don’t remember how I got started, but I picked up a bag at the store one day, and had a little cup for a snack. Then, I thought about how good they’d be with a little salt mixed in. Enter the pretzels. In a slightly larger cup. Pretty soon, I was snacking on that every day.

Well, I thought, the baby wants it. [Ladies, why must we drag our unborn into our justifications? Who are we fooling here?] Besides, once she was born, I’d probably be sick of the little round devils anyway.

Oh, if only.

Then came Christmas candy. After that, my birthday and Valentine’s Day, where I scored not one but two boxes of See’s chocolates. But once they’re gone, I thought. . .

img_2246

Doh! Easter candy! How could I forget my most favorite Easter candies? So now I have this to contend with.

I could stop any time I want, of course. It’s just that I don’t think I want to until after Easter. (And don’t remind me of that. I’ll tell you when I’ve had enough!)

4 responses »

  1. Oh – I’m sure you deserve that candy! Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. At times like this, I tell myself that my magnesium levels must be awfully low and, therefore, I NEED the candy.

    Reply
  3. Um, yes. Easter candy, indeed. Bubba and I were at Target last night and took a little trip down the “Seasonal” aisle for our favorite junk.

    I happen to believe that there is nothing finer and more ingenious than the Reese’s Peanut Butter egg. Those things are huge! And delicious. And, of course, we had to get some Cadbury Eggs and I think Bubba got some stupid Jelly Beans.

    Anyway, it was such a scene that I thought I might blog about it. But here you are! So now you are bearing the brunt of my candy fantasies.

    Have your Milky Way egg, I won’t judge you.

    Reply
  4. Hershey’s Spring limited edition Kisses- Coconut Creme….need I say more

    Reply

Leave a Reply

