RSS Feed

Craft:along: Secret Ingredient Pizza

[OK, right off the bat, let me go ahead and tell you that I didn’t even use the 5-minute pizza dough recipe for this month’s Craft:along. I did, however, use a 5-minute dough, and did make a pizza, so please consider me along, if you will. Oh, and I think you all know what dough I used. Yes, the bucket o’dough.]

Takeout Friday has been a long-standing tradition in my family as far back as I can remember, and you’d better believe that I’ve done my best to keep the torch lit with my own little family, here. Mama is tired of meal-planning and cooking by Friday night. We also celebrate a little something called Friday Frelaxing night in this household, so named by Joey, who considers it a treat to “frelax” in our bed on Friday night, playing video games and having his bedtime story. He’s a cheap date, and that’s the way we like it. (We don’t know why he adds the “f”. He also likes “froasting” marshmallows. We will be very sad when this little quirk of his disappears.)

Now we’ve kicked it up a notch by introducing homemade pizza to the equation.

img_2256

Since there are only two pizza places near our house, and neither is very good, and we disagree on which of these too not-very-good places is the lesser of two evils, homemade pizza has been a cause for great celebration. In the past, I’ve made pizza for us from time to time, but it’s always been something of a big to-do. Now that I have my bucket o’ dough at the ready, it’s a snap. I even bought real toppings, like pepperoni, and sauce specifically labelled for pizzas, to kick it up a notch (because I don’t have an awesome homemade sauce on hand. We  are also completely lacking in awesome dough twirling skills. My dad was the only one who knew how to do that, but the first and last time he shared this skill with us, the dough ended up in the trash. Literally. Went up in the air, we oohed and aahed, and then watched it land squarely in the garbage. I just roll it out on the sheet….)

Best of all, the three of us finally have a pizza we can agree on. And the secret ingredient? Ah, yes: The secret ingredient is thrift. All I have to say is, “And do you know how much this pizza cost?”, and a very tasty pizza becomes the stuff of legend.

Oh, we know how to have a good time around here.

6 responses »

  1. Mmmmm….trash pizza…I tell that story whenever I make pizza…

    “It was a brand new Alpha Beta bag!”

    Reply
  2. Funny how anything pertaining to food catches my eye. And if you have recording abilities, you should get those words on tape/video. Adorable. My nephew used to click his tongue for Mark’s name. I guess we overemphasized the k sound and he thought he’d got it. I was so sad when he stopped walking around the house, making that clicking sound to call for Uncle Mark.

    Reply
  3. Ah, we have trash cookies around here. From the time I thought I’d ruined the cookies and threw them out, only to find Bubba fishing them out. “They’re fine! What’s wrong with you?”

    What’s wrong with me, indeed.

    Nice lookin’ pizza!

    Reply
  4. Yes the pizza looks delicious. I love all these trash food stories! I too would have been tempted to take cookies out of the trash but a little in awe of a guy who actually would!

    I agree you need to get a recording of “frelaxing” — love it!

    Reply
  5. Sounds yummy! Can you pass along the bucket o’dough recipe sometime? Mel and I really enjoy trying out new recipes and that sounds like a keeper.

    Reply
  6. Not only does your pizza look ever so yummy, I love the secret ingredient component.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

