RSS Feed

You Can Still Put Your Feet On It

I have so many things bouncing around in my head, I hardly know where to begin. The best thing to do would be to simply pick one, right? Agreed.

Long story short, our four-year-old IKEA ottoman was disgusting. Sure, it has a removable cover, and we’ve even been known to remove it and wash it. In fact, it was such a disaster after we brought Bridget home (between various baby fluids and several spilled drinks) that we made it a point to take it off and spot treat/launder it before any visitors came our way.

Here’s how it looked when it came out of the wash:

img_2317

Ah, yes. So glad we rushed it to the wash. Needless to say, we then draped it with a blanket.

Finally, last week, I got the urge to make the slipcover I’d been planning for the last six months. And yes, even though I measured twice before I cut once, I still screwed it up royally. Whatever. I can fudge with the best of ’em, and the result is still a hundred times better than what we were living with already.

img_23182

The best part? After searching for (and failing to come across) the perfect fabric, I came home and saw this one on my shelf. It was one of the clearance beauties I’d picked up about a year or so ago for $2.99/yard, which made this a whopping six dollar project. Score!

Apparently, I’m not the only one fed up with the box full of unfinished projects. Spring to finish, indeed—no time like the present!

5 responses »

  1. I love it! Looks great.

    Reply
  2. What a lovely makeover. The fabric you used is so nice. I, too, am working on the “Spring to Finish” project, trying to finish things that I’ve stashed in my “stalling” box.

    Reply
  3. Ack! LOVE LOVE LOVE it. Great makeover and you must be so proud of your ability to do it so inexpensively.

    Reply
  4. Wow! That’s pretty Fn cute for fudge. That’s a great fabric – nice work on scoring a major deal on it. And now when it gets all jacked up, you can wash it OR toss it and make a new one.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Now It Has a Friend « Make it Snappy

Leave a Reply

