RSS Feed

Kids Craft Along – April

Sure, I’d planned on participating before Easter, but whatever. It’s still April, right?

img_2320

About a month ago, I was feeling really bad about not having enough one-on-one time with the boy. “I wish we had a better schedule going, so that I could plan some activities for him”, thought I , while I checked my email as the baby took her morning nap.

Yep. As the baby took her morning nap. At the same time she takes it every day (except for this week, when everything  just hit the fan). You’re seeing it already, aren’t you? Doh! Lucky for me, Ms. Heather kicked off this great Kids Craft Along, providing me with more tools for my arsenal. And boy, do I need ’em! She may as well have subtitled it, “Meg, it’s not that hard”. I make a production out of everything when it comes to organized activities, but I’m working on that. The rainy day yesterday provided me with the perfect opportunity to just do it already, so I did.

Since I wasn’t really invested in producing “perfection” (seeing as how I was working with a three-year-old, and it’s a week past Easter), I was able to stick with supplies on-hand. I had a bag of wooden eggs, a leftover piece of pretty tissue paper, and some watered down Elmer’s glue, which turned this wallet-friendly craft into a totally free one.

Here, the artist brushes glue onto the egg:

img_2323

Now, ever so carefully applying the pre-cut (OK, I did the cutting) paper:

img_2324

Et, voila! Mommy and Me Eggs:

img_2327

The whole thing took maybe all of a half hour, and salvaged what was rapidly turning into a bad morning. He was thrilled with the process (except for getting glue on his hands, which he did not like, for he is my child), and so proud of his little egg. Hooray, Ms. Heather, for the fun idea!

3 responses »

  1. ah yes, and for he is my nephew. Uncle Mikey hates even a drop of glue on his skin.

    Reply
  2. They turned out great! I’m so glad you all enjoyed it! Stay tuned for May’s – I promise there will not be any glue involved.

    Reply
  3. What a cute project for kids (and grown-ups, too!). I love seeing children creating things, gives them such a wonderful sense of accomplishment and encourages their amazing imaginations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

