RSS Feed

Take It Easy

Is it just me, or does this whole “staycation” craze seem a little weird? Growing up, we rarely actually vacated during our time off. From the looks of it, we’re planning on raising our own children in this proud tradition, too, so I’m a little bit glad that the rest of the nation is getting on-board. I have to say, though, I’m not sure I can adopt the air of quiet dignity and self-sacrifice that the people they show on the news seem to have perfected. Maybe I’ll work on that this coming week, when we do our duty as citizens and enjoy Part II of our Family Staycation!

(I felt that jazzing it up with capitalization and punctuation would add to the excitement.)

During this fun-filled week, we may even venture as far as the other side of town, perhaps even DOWNTOWN. This really brings it all back for me, seeing as how we would venture 45 full minutes away from home to travel into THE CITY for the day when I was a kid, topped only by the once in a blue moon trip to THE BEACH (45 minutes in the other direction). My people—we are homebodies at heart.

We might even go to the movies, and re-decorate, and barbecue. It’s good when you can take joy in the simpler pleasures in life, especially when you end up shelling out the big bucks on all new tires for your car on Day One, which was oddly reminiscent of shelling out big bucks for the air conditioner during Part I of our adventure a few weeks ago.

In keeping with our theme of simple pleasures, I also hope to enjoy:

IMG_2573

  • Many more spaghetti sauce jars filled with cold-brew tea (thanks to these super-simple instructions; essentially, drop a tea bag in water and refrigerate overnight.) So good! I’m usually a little put off by the little bitter taste in green tea, but this method smooths it right out. And I don’t have to commit to two quarts at a time, which is a plus. And drinking out of an old sauce jar makes me laugh, although I don’t know why.

IMG_2577

  • Playing with my pretty, pretty fabric. I’ve got the itch to really slice into them, but what to do?

I’m going to try to tear myself away from the computer, so I probably won’t be back for a few days. Stay cool, my friends!

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a great plan!! We usually try to leave for a full-fledged vacation (even if it’s just a 4-day weekend) once a year because with a farm and livestock, the only to really vacation is to leave, lol.
    That said, last summer we stayed home but we interspersed a few activities throughout the summer that we normally wouldn’t do, like an achitectural boat tour down the Chicago river. It’s all good!

    Reply
  2. Boo, if you don’t get this comment until you “get back” have a safe staycation! I’ll miss you! Bring me back a tshirt! :o) my gosh i crack myself up…really, this is like you’re 3rd staycation…you guys are such showoffs!

    But school starts 3 weeks from mon so we have some serious traveling to do of our own meg, come on we have to squeeze in one day trip at least, think of the memories!

    Reply
  3. Oooooo! I like that fabric! Yeah, I’m back to civilization again!

    Reply
  4. Yum. Glad you’re liking your tea, too! Who knew that green tea could taste so amazing, right?

    Katie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

